The End of the Narrative / War and Peace: The Blog Post / Crown to the Crucible Complete / 2006-2009

December 19, 2008 at 11:50 am 35 comments


HALT!

(short version)

The end of Shoes On Powerlines is here! I had originally started this blog when I was at the University of Oregon. After deleting all those posts and starting anew in Los Angeles, I have posted on this every week or so for almost 3 years!

Looking back at some of the old posts, I basically talk about the same stuff I talk about now. Guided by Voices, scooters, motorcycles. I can remember writing a lot of that stuff in my old apartment in Santa Monica. Different smells, different times.

I will be 29 in a few months. Yikes! This blog has been so much fun, but it is time to move on. I’ve grown more and more disenchanted with the whole “social” aspect of the internet. In short, I think it is sort of bullshit. “I’m going to myspace your twitter account because I posted a facebook comment talking about that flickr photo you took, let’s blog about it!” The usefulness of the internet is getting diluted because most people use it to tell others what kind of sandwich they ate for lunch. Or blog about Robert Pollard and motorcycles. I’m not exempt! It is just something I no longer understand or enjoy.

So I had a lot of fun writing and listening to comments, etc! And this isn’t the end of me blogging, but it is the end of the narrative I started back in 2006. When the new one starts, so will my writing! Check in every few months. When the new one starts, I don’t know if I could think of a catchier name than Shoes on Powerlines.

(end of short version. long version after the jump)

You don’t think I would leave without talking about my favorite albums of 2009, did you?

I wouldn’t!

I’m not going to make a top 5 list, but here are my favorite albums in no particular order:

Boston Spaceships – Brown Submarine

Eff it, I’m giving this #1. Plus I saw them in concert and it was the best concert I’ve ever been to. Hands down. I don’t know what else to say, just go buy it.

TV on the Radio – Dear Science

Wow! This has the distinction of being a really, really great album with one really, really bad song on it. I can’t stand the third song on the album. The manic beat really grates on me, I skip it every time.

R.E.M. – Accelerate

R.E.M. didn’t necessarily have anything to prove with this album, but they did anyway. I was apprehensive at first (with their producer choice, mostly). This album is not a return to form, but an evolution of what has always made them great. I look forward to their next album.

Dennis Wilson – Pacific Ocean Blue / Bambu

A reissue, sure. But the first time I’ve been able to listen to these albums. Pacific Ocean Blue helped me through a rough month, and Bambu is an odd treat that sort of reminds me of The Beach Boys Love You. An unexpected treat is Taylor Hawkins’ version of “Holy Man.”


Robert Pollard – Robert Pollard is off to Business

Had to throw this in, because it is a really taught evolution of Robert Pollard’s solo mantra of the three P’s: Punk, Prog, and Pop.


Stephen Malkmus – Real Emotional Trash

I’m only throwing this in because it forced me to go buy his two earlier solo albums, which I listened to about 100 times more than this album. A little too jammy for me, but holds some pretty good gems. True story: I was listening to this album when I was rebuilding my Honda, and one song was “jamming” for too long, and I was getting frustrated with my bike at a certain point, and I threw a wrench at the stereo to stop the jamming. STOP JAM ROCK!

There aren’t many other albums that were released this year (that I bought) that really twisted my noodle. I’m usually about a year behind on most releases, so I’ll probably pick up all the hot stuff next year. But here are some albums that are honorable mentions, or they weren’t released in 2008:

The Hellacopters – Grande Rock
Circus Devils – Sgt. Disco
The The – Dusk
Doug Gillard – Salamander
Turbonegro – Retox
T-Bone Burnett – Truth Decay

Favorite song of the year? It was a toss-up between R.E.M.’s “Man Sized Wreath” and Boston Spaceships’ “You Satisfy Me.” I’d flip a coin, but I don’t have one.

A couple disappointments. The Dandy Warhols’ latest over-reaching mess of an album, Welcome to Earth. The over-produced to the point of being unlistenable Chinese Democracy.

I’d like to give a special shoutout to Airport 5’s Tower in the Fountain of Sparks which for some reason I decided to listen to like mad. Probably because it is one of my favorite albums of all time.

My email is the same, my phone number is too! Time warp back 10 years… taking life offline… starting now!

TURN UP EVERYTHING!

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, High Kicks, Missing, Posterity.

See you in 2009… maybe Blogs relaunched, reissued, repackaged.

35 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  December 19, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I did not and do not approve of this.

    That being said, I had the same experience with the Stephen Malkmus album but I still like the first 45 seconds of each and every song on the record (cd? whatever).

    I will email you in the future, I guess.

    This makes me sad. I’m still going to comment on your Flickr photos…unless…are you getting rid of that too???

    NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

    Sad.

    *sniffle*

  • 2. melissalion  |  December 19, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    What Kiala said.

  • 3. whitney  |  December 19, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    this means you will have to actually write to me, instead of just writing and me pretending you were writing to me all along. . .

  • 4. Naterageous  |  December 19, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Your blog has to die on my birthday of all days?

  • 5. dave  |  December 20, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Damn, man. There’s really only four things that I check out online on a daily basis: email, craigslist, Shoes on Powerlines, and Sinpies (and we know Charley never updates that fuckin’ thing). So basically, you’re knocking out a quarter of my online interests. But that’s cool man. I understand and support your decision. But I will miss checking in with your thoughts on a daily basis. Hey, is Bill Rieflin still the unofficial drummer for R.E.M.? He was a drummer for years in Ministry, Revolting Cocks, Filth Pig etc. So I thought it was pretty interesting to hear that he had started drumming with R.E.M. See you on New Years brother!

  • 6. Kiala  |  December 21, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Wait. Why is Dave not checking my blog on a daily basis?

    Booo.

    Harrumph.

  • 7. dave  |  December 21, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Uhhh… I mean five things… five things that I check on a daily basis…yeah… fuck. Damn it internets, you gots me in trouble again.

  • 8. Robert  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Awwwwww yeah everyone. I’ll be back. Version 3.1!!!!

  • 9. Naterageous  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Oh, it was an attention getter! You’re like Jay-Z.

  • 10. Robert  |  December 22, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I’m just like Jay-Z!

  • 11. Naterageous  |  December 23, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Update your blog already.

  • 12. Naterageous  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Update your blog.

  • 13. Naterageous  |  December 24, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Hey. Update your blog.

  • 14. Naterageous  |  December 24, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Update your dead blog with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_XPOqdIxGg

  • 15. Naterageous  |  December 26, 2008 at 1:16 am

    BORING. Update your blog. If you care enough to read the stupid comments on your dead blog, take the time to update it!

  • 16. b  |  December 27, 2008 at 12:45 am

    encore!!! /holding lighter up

  • 17. Kiala  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I’ll wait.

    I’m patient.

    (is not patient at all…in fact has ADHD and a really short temper.)

  • 18. Naterageous  |  December 27, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Done waiting.

    Update your blog.

  • 19. Naterageous  |  December 28, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    You forgot.

    I forgive.

    Update your blog.

  • 20. Naterageous  |  December 29, 2008 at 10:09 am

    It is Monday.

    Update your blog.

  • 21. Naterageous  |  December 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Hey.

    Update your blog.

  • 22. Naterageous  |  December 30, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    It was nice hanging out with you today.

    Update your blog.

  • 23. Naterageous  |  January 2, 2009 at 11:37 am

    2009.

    Update your blog.

  • 24. Naterageous  |  January 2, 2009 at 11:38 am

    2009.

    Update your blog.

  • 25. Robert  |  January 2, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I will in time, Nate.

    Delgo at the Bagdad.

  • 26. Naterageous  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Update your blog.

  • 27. Naterageous  |  January 4, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I’m confused.

    Update your blog.

  • 28. Naterageous  |  January 5, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Update your blog. It’s Monday.

  • 29. Naterageous  |  January 8, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Update your blog. Update.

  • 30. Naterageous  |  January 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Get over it. Update your blog.

  • 31. Naterageous  |  January 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Give in. Blog your update..

  • 32. Kiala  |  January 17, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    I miss your blog.

  • 33. Naterageous  |  January 18, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Your blog update. Do it.

  • 34. Naterageous  |  January 19, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Please.

  • 35. Naterageous  |  January 21, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Pretty please?


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

