what I did!

December 1, 2008 at 10:53 am 4 comments

This was a long weekend! I did these things:

Ate some foods.

Totally slipped and ate it on the sidewalk, ripping my jeans and skinning my knee.

I didn’t play any Metroid. I replaced a broken bit on my hand impact driver because I BROKE IT!

And I worked for 8 hours on stripping down the CB750 to THIS:

A little hard to see, and I’ve removed more after this photo – but basically I have pulled everything from the frame except the engine. I removed the wiring harness which was a little bit if a pain, mostly because a lot of it was overly taped up and bodged together. This will be a major rebuild in itself, figuring out whether to just get a whole new wiring harness or painstakingly work through the old one and repair it.

I also spent a few hours laying on that cardboard and removing the underpan of the engine, because the guy who had the bike last decided to slather the bottom with gasket material. I was really worried that this was because there was a crack in the aluminum. After stripping all of that gunk off and removing and cleaning the pan, everything looked ok. It just needs a new gasket. Sloppy work makes me frustrated! Why throw a bunch of gasket material to pin down a leak when you can just take an hour and do it right?

If you don’t have the time to do it right the first time, when are you going to find time to do it again when it breaks?

Anyway – I’m going to build a little engine cradle so when I pull the engine I can roll it around easily. It is heavy. 250+ pounds heavy. Once the engine is out, I can remove the front forks and wheels, and I will have a bare motorcycle frame. Crazy!

I did some other stuff too.

fin.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

dirt track Top 10: Pollard songs around a minute long

4 Comments

  • 1. alex  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I came very close to watching Father of the Bride.

  • 2. melissalion  |  December 1, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I did a lot of blank staring. And pie making. My pies looked a little bit like what I imagine your gasket material looked like before you cleaned it.

    Also, what would you say is wrong with a new fangled vespa that was laid down (I talk motorcycle talk) yesterday, lost a screw and now when you start it goes like this ruh ruh and starts after a half hour of ruh ruhs.

    This is the car talk blog, right?

  • 3. Robert  |  December 1, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    If it is a new Vespa, and it was laid down, it means that it is flooded. The owner needs to disconnect the “evap hose” that Vespa connected to the carb. This is originally to capture gas evaporation and recycle it to the carbs. This can be disconnected without any harm. Here is a detailed guide:

    http://www.modernvespa.com/forum/topic86.html

    I still don’t understand how people lay down modern Vespas.

    That’s 888-CAR-TALK

    Oh yeah.. and lost a screw from where? What side was it laid down on? And HOW?

  • 4. Kiala  |  December 4, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Wait. This isn’t the Gilmore Girls blog???


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


