Conservative Dickweeds Celebrate Taking Basic Civil Rights Away from Other Human Beings

November 5, 2008 at 12:03 pm 5 comments


Pictured: Fundamentalist douchebags cheer that the “sacred institution” of marriage is upheld. Right after this, they went home and rewatched the 3rd season of “The Bachelor.”

Seriously, California. Proposition 8! Why couldn’t we do it? Is it because the Mormon church dumped millions of dollars into the “Yes on 8” campaign? Yes, the same church that believes that if you are lucky enough to make the list, that after you die you will receive your own planet where that you can rule with your 13 wives.

Seriously.

Why would someone spend time to ban something that has nothing to do with their lives? Are you gay? No? Then what does it matter to you that they want to come together in civil union? It isn’t a religious thing, no matter how many people say it is. You know why? Because the “sacred institution” of marriage was broken the very first time someone got a divorce. Hundreds of years ago. Now, you can tune into Fox where they show you 8 women trying to whore themselves out to marry some guy they met a day earlier. That sacred institution?

I guess I just don’t understand it. I don’t understand it like I don’t understand racism, like I don’t understand the hate that permeates from a certain type of people in this country. Where does it come from? Why do some people have it, but I don’t? (unless you are talking about cocker spaniels, or Chinese scooters).

All that being said – it was a loss for civil rights in California and a win for our entire nation last night. It is an amazing thought and feeling that Barack Obama will be our President. I got a little teary last night when he mentioned the 108 year old woman who went and voted, and now she will see a black man as President of the United States. The same United States that kept her segregated, wouldn’t allow her to vote because of the color of her skin. She was treated as a second class human for so many years, and I will never know how she felt last night. I’m sure she thought she would never see an African-American as President. I didn’t believe that in my lifetime it would happen, and I hopefully have a long life ahead of me.

Amazing!!!

All that being said. John McCain – I have respect for the man. He is a war hero and he has served America for decades. If you supported McCain, then you should blame his campaign. What a dirty campaign! If the McCain that existed 8 years ago ran for office, it would have been a much closer race. And… Palin. What else could be said?

What now? Lots of work for sure. If you are from a small town, you’ll have to endure a lot of racist remarks and backward thinking. But I have full faith that America can come back. It isn’t about Democrat or Republican… it’s about having a country that works for its citizens. Isn’t that exciting?

Let me know your thoughts… if you agree or disagree. (One caveat: no Fox News)

Entry filed under: High Kicks, Important, Los Angeles. Tags: , , .

Well said, chap. Don’t worry

5 Comments

  • 1. jen  |  November 5, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Well said. I followed the prop 8 results as closely as I followed our own measures, and was saddened by the outcome. However, I am hopeful that we can accomplish great things in the next 4 years.

  • 2. Robert  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I agree! No where to go but up!

  • 3. Charley  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    You’re right for once, dude!

  • 4. melissa lion  |  November 5, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    It was a good day. California is much more conservative than people think. The whole inland empire, plus San Diego… well that’s a lot of military folk and mega churches.

  • 5. Robert  |  November 6, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Charley – So this is what being right feels like! Amazing!

    Melissa – Well, since I’ve only been to Los Angeles, San Fransisco, a various desert locations.. I guess I had a different idea of California? I dunno!

    Sea World and junk!!!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

