A collection of CB Radios

October 9, 2008 at 3:25 pm 10 comments

CB radios are an interesting phenomenon. When they were first introduced, they represented a cheap way to communicate with people you don’t know – conveying information that may or may not be useful to the particular listener depending on their location.

Soon enough, CB users came up with their own lingo, and the popularity of the CB radio even went on to movies. Soon the general public lost interest and the CB radio quietly settled back to use mostly by highway travelers.

What I love about these CB radio below is that they are “new,” however their style hasn’t evolved much. They are functional and tough – ready for constant use and adjustment as the analog squelch meter moves up and down and channels are constantly flipped. These are heavy duty, quality radios.

The first two radios below are “10 Meter radios” but I liked the look so included them.

All images taken from CB Radios Plus.

Connex 3300 HP

Stryker SR-440HP

Cobra Classic 29LTD

Uniden PC68 Elite

If you are interested in CB’s like this:

The go nuts at the RetroCom CB Museum.

What was your handle? And to my family, you all better chime in and share your handles (even though I still remember them all).

And remember, no horsing around on channel 9.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Road Trips. Tags: , .

the home for the blind For Alex

10 Comments

  • 1. Robert  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Oh yeah – my handle in my Geo Metro was “Tin Bucket.”

  • 2. Charley  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Lunch Bait

  • 3. Jen  |  October 9, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    All my experience with CB radios has come from “Smokey and the Bandit”, but my aunt used to have one. Her handle was “Little Beaver.” Insert joke of your choice here.

  • 4. Robert  |  October 10, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Jen, I think you made the joke by yourself… and ’twas funny! Don’t tell your Aunt though.

  • 5. Isabelle  |  October 10, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Resounding Flute

  • 6. Mother Nature  |  October 10, 2008 at 7:21 am

    It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature

  • 7. T  |  October 10, 2008 at 8:18 am

    “10-4 good buddy” says Tanya Tucker

  • 8. 'Ol Yeller  |  October 11, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    The Cobra Classic 29LTD is the same radio that’s in my big truck. Unless I am coming up to or am in the middle of a “break check”. Accident, or some other type of chaos. I don’t turn it on. There are so many self centered, egotistical, ignorant yahoos out there in “Petes” KW,s Freightliners and Cornbinders with 150 watt amps on there radios.
    Some times the crap coming over the radio makes my fillings vibrate. But I suppose it could be because I am on my third Thermos of coffee.

  • 9. Robert  |  October 12, 2008 at 12:14 am

    Ha! Thanks for the insiders info, pop. I mean ‘Ol Yeller! Now all we need to hear from is,,,, Heather! Give up the CB handle!!!!!

  • 10. Michael  |  October 13, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Mine was “Fleegle” named after a stuffed-animal frog I had as a kid. I used to talk to my high school friends on that thing back in 1995. I was mostly a mud duck though cuz my signal weren’t too strong.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

