Let’s talk beer

September 23, 2008 at 2:12 pm 25 comments

Man, I love beer. I love it so much. It is so delicous and cold and delicious! I love beers! It is a social drink. Buy 36 beers and invite over your friends! Sit around and watch a Steven Seagal movie and drink beers!

Here are my favorite beers.

Newcastle! A delicious brown ale, smooth with an almost malt vinegar finish. I have a friend from the UK who says Newcastle over there is like Budweiser over here – it’s pretty much the stock ale. That’s ok by me!

I’ve had Newcastle all three ways. On tap is of course the best, but inexplicably it is the best from an authentic British pub, like my favorite: The Cock and Bull. At home it is always available to you in its autumn colored bottle. HOWEVER, if you go to a Laker’s game and go into one of those private booths that overlook the arena, they serve you Newcastle in a can! WEIRD. Newcastle is also quite prominent in Quadrophenia.

But sometimes I’d like something lighter, for the warm Los Angeles weather.

Well, lately I’ve been drinking a lot of Bud Light. Yes… seriously. And I keep it so cold, it is probably the most refreshing beer I’ve had in a dog’s age. But it has to be ice cold. Of course you know I’m a fan of the Miller High Life as well. But if I’d like to have a lager that’s a little more.. well.. tasty.. I usually go with:

Rolling Rock! Which has a sneaky sneaky way of kicking your butt all the sudden. I always enjoy a Rolling Rock because of the wonderful bottle, and CVS constantly has them on sale for 8.99/12.

I’ve recently tried Birra Moretti, an Italian lager very similar to Stella Artois. Stella Artois seems to be Los Angeles’ most favorite beer of all time, but I really am not a fan of the Belgian pale ale.

I also miss my favorite Oregon lager: Henry Weinhard’s Blue Boar ale. Another lager in a skunky green bottle – I used to drink these by the dozen in college. Oregon friends: I’d love to have a Blue Boar with you right now!

Then of course I really enjoy the stouts – chocolate stouts or imperial stouts or anything so dark you can’t shine a light through it.

Basically – I’m at work right now and very very thirsty. I have a list of delicious beers I’d like to try, and here are a few:

Old Speckled Hen, an English ale.
Belikin and Litehouse Lager, beers from Belize.
Orval Beer, made by monks!!!

What are some of your favorite beers, dear reader? What should I try? Why?!?!

Entry filed under: drinking.

My Experience with Mac Performance Fringe: The Formula

25 Comments

  • 1. JustinS  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I usually dig the IPAs, while occasionally going for an amber or pale ale.

    Lately, I’ve been digging Dead Guy Ale again. Doesn’t hurt that you can find it in like 1/2 gallon bottles.

    Oh, and Arrogant Bastard Ale. Good beer, and I love the text on the bottole:

    This is an aggressive beer. You probably won’t like it. It is quite doubtful that you have the taste or sophistication to appreciate an ale of this quality and depth.

  • 2. JustinS  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    And I believe “bottole” is French for “Justin is dumb.”

  • 3. Robert  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Ahh yes.. there was a supermarket that had a magnum bottle of Arrogant Bastard Ale in the wine section. I’m sure I’ve had it, but I can’t recall the taste.

    But I truly am an arrogant bastard sometimes, so maybe I should wait for those times to try it again.

  • 4. Charley  |  September 23, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    I, too, enjoy the IPAs. The New Old Lompoc’s OSB is probably my favorite beer of all time. I also enjoyed New Belgium’s summer seasonal this year: Skinny Dip. Hammerhead is a great beer too. There are so many! This post might inspire me to drink beer tonight, instead of the whiskey I’ve been having.

  • 5. melissa lion  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I had a margarita today and I didn’t wind up with a headache. This leads me to believe that I am, in fact, allergic to beer. THE HORROR.

    If I weren’t allergic, I need to say Deshutes can’t go wrong in my book.

    Also, Stella = skunky and expensive. Never. Again.

  • 6. michael  |  September 24, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Wow, i love this topic!
    I love lagers. I really like Red Stripe. Dead Guy is awesome. Can’t go wrong with Blue Boar. I really like Moretti, with an authentic Italian-style pizza! mmmmmm…. Jubelale in the winter, yum. I will drink beer all year!
    We gotta go to Hopworks when you come to Portland, good beer there!
    Oh, and I’ll have the Henry’s in the fridge, waitin’ for ya.

    M-16

  • 7. T  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:06 am

    OK……finally a blog I can participate in!! Being that Robert is my brother, he knows my favorite is Fat Tire. I always have it in my frig, and now my parents always have it in there frig for their beer lovin daughter and for those beer drinking times like Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter! New Belgium Brewing has a bunch of flavors I am making my way through. I tried Skinny Dip during the Wilderville community festival, it was 110 degrees that day and the beer was very cold and tasted like heaven! The beer was the only reason I stayed…….if you never have been to Wilderville you wouldn’t understand. (picture shirtless, sweaty rednecks dancing to a horrible band). Anyways…..I also tried the Trippel and it was very hoppy, not as dark as the Fat Tire and I will try it again. I have 6 flavors to go not counting seasonal brews and then I will go on to Samual Adams zillions flavors. OHHH the homework!! I have written down your list RJ and will try to find them here in Little Grants Pass, and I suggest making a beer thingy where we all try the list of beers and talk about it. But don’t include IPA’s cause they suck! Am I rambling? Is my spelling aarful? Cause I am lacking sleep cause your nephew had bad dreams which means I slept with the tazmanian devil last night. Three cheers for beer…..Hip Hip

  • 8. Robert  |  September 24, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Yeah! I knew this would get people talking.

    It looks like Skinny Dip was the best beer of the summer, and I COMPLETELY MISSED IT! I’m currently on the search using the power of the internet to track some of this down.

    Stella is skunky, and I’m not a fan, so I like Moretti a bit more. However, sometimes Stella hits the spot… I can’t figure it out.

    Sis – I picked up the Samuel Adams “Brewmaster Collection” last night. It includes a Brown Ale, Black Lager, Irish Red, Scotch Ale, Honey Porter, and the stock Boston Lager.

    I tried the Brown Ale, and it was pretty good but didn’t have the finish that I enjoy so much with Newcastle. The Black Lager was bland and had a really poor aftertaste. I started on the Irish Red but got too involved in my motorcycle. It wasn’t that good.

    I don’t think I enjoy Samuel Adams that much… I’ve never been too impressed with their beers. I think the New Belgium brewery is the way to go.. also Deschutes Brewery.

    Obsidian Stout, Black Butte Porter, and Jubelale! Michael – keep that Blue Boar cold for me! Blip!

    On another note – Pumpkin Ale is appearing in stores now! Yahoo!

  • 9. Miss Bliss  |  September 24, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Beer is for dirty commoners. I only drink premium aged wine poured from a decanter. Nose it and sleep with lords.

  • 10. Robert  |  September 24, 2008 at 11:29 am

  • 11. T  |  September 24, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Wine…….now your talkin’. But I prefer to drink it and when I do, the lords I am sleeping with are playing drums in my head. If it is not premium then it is hangover in a bottle – sayeth the dirty white girl in GP Oregon. Never thought I would say it, but beer over wine.

  • 12. dave  |  September 24, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I’m pretty much a beer pussy. I prefer the cocktails. But when it comes to beer I like lagers and pilsners. Trumer pilsner is my current favorite. I like Stella, but only if it is on tap, and then only one or two or else headache. It sucks in the bottle. Of course HIgh LIfe is always good, and I recently tried some swill called Old German that I thought was fairly good.

  • 13. Kiala  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Beer is like food. I can only drink like one. I love the IPA’s and stuff too and anything really hoppy but I also like Budweiser in a bottle and Pacifico’s with a lime.

    Delicious.

    And Dos Equis when I’m in TJ. For nostalgia.

  • 14. Isabelle  |  September 25, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I agree with both Kiala and Dave.

    Beer is too filling. I’m usually done after half a beer and then I pass it on to Charley. He’ll drink anyone’s trash.

    I used to like Blue Heron a lot, but it’s been forever since I’ve had one, so I don’t know now.

    I prefer cocktails. Not the candy kind, the respectable kind. I had a couple of Salty Dogs last night.

  • 15. alex  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Like Dave, I enjoy beer pussy.

  • 16. Serena  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Chimay (red label, also made by Monks) if I’m feeling rich and it’s cold out. Brookly Brewery India Pale Ale and good ol’ Rolling Rock too. Everybody seems to drink Bud Light in NY-While that’s a refreshing change from the NW preference for blackberry-blueberry-pumkin-stout -lager-cream-ale-most-complicated-and -thick-beer-ever, I’m surprised how people don’t care what beer tastes like at all. I guess that’s why Dunkin Donuts is er’body’s fave here as well….XOXO!

  • 17. Robert  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Chimay?!?!? I’ll try it. Monks have never made anything bad, right?

    But I think I’ll need to wait quite a while for the cold…

  • 18. Kiala  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Monks do make the awesomest things.

    Like Fudge.

    And Frangelico.

  • 19. Tom Rabbit  |  September 30, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    In a rare double-addendum to my original comment (feel honored, k?), you’re missing out on some seriously killer west-coast(tm) microbrews. Try some Anchor Steam, and thank me later.

  • 20. Robert  |  September 30, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Tom Rabbit: From last comment to first.

    Anchor Steam is the only beer I’ve actually been unable to finish. In my opinion it has a very sharp yet mellow mouth and a very undesirable finish, almost akin to a gym sock. Now, I’m not trying to insult one of your favorite beers, but for some reason Anchor Steam hasn’t done it for me and my pallet was quite upset when I tried some.

    As far as the rest of the west coast microbrews – sometimes I feel like I’ve tried them all! If there are there are others that I’ve missed… tell me now! Coming of drinking age in the NW really gave me the full spectrum of delicious microbrews. Here-here, Oregon Beer hippies!

  • 21. T  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Back to the important stuff!! I tried Newcastle and liked it. For a darker beer it almost had a Corona finish to it…….wierd. This week is New Belguim Sub zero (or something like that). It is a winner! Try it Robert and let me know what you think!

  • 22. Robert  |  November 5, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Hmmm. Belgium beers have always been a hit/miss with me. But I’ll try anything! Unfortunately, California’s beer selection lacks. Fortunately, it will be a long Christmas break.

    Order up!

  • 23. Robert  |  January 19, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    There’s your blog update, Nate!

  • 24. Robert  |  January 19, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Also.. attention spam bots. This guy’s email address is:

    shawn@intrinsicaudiovisual.com

    Also, GROSS:

    http://www.myspace.com/shawntrail
    http://www.shawntrail.com

  • 25. T  |  January 19, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Wow


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


