Triple Threat

September 5, 2008 at 11:00 am 4 comments

Remember this?

It is mine now.

I offered to buy it from Jaxon because it has been sitting for 2 months with nary a wrench nor screwdriver touching it. Broke my damn heart.

So I will resurrect this beast from the dead (actually, it runs great). But it needs some TLC and some new parts, obviously. And here is what I’d like it to become:


Image Source: cb750cafe.com

Now, of course this guy stripped the bike down to the frame and did absolutely amazing work. But there are design elements that I’d like to take from the above bike.

First off, I’ll need a new rear fender and taillight. I really like the bobbed fender on the above bike, and the classic styled “limp sausage” taillight. Also, I’ll need a new seat. I’m thinking about picking up a cheap pan and trying to upholster it myself, to save pennies.

The tank on the above bike is hand pounded. The tank for my bike will be the wildcard. It currently has a major dent on the right side from the accident, but it is operational. It just looks like crap. Come time to sell the bike, I’ll definitely want a nice new tank on there. I could either find an old stock 750 tank and get someone to pound it for me, or purchase a fiberglass tank (this ain’t gonna happen). So, the tank will probably be the last thing.

Then I’ll remove the bars and controls from the current bike (I think they look absolutely gash) and repaint the speedo and tach, put some slight drop clubmans on there, a single left hand mirror, and tuck all the electronics away. Also, I’ll remove the old ugly air filters and put some sharp looking metal cone filters on there (hopefully not requiring a rejet).

Then, lots of detailing on the frame – touch ups and whatnot.  I’ll need to throw the new sprocket on the back, as well as powdercoat the rims black and get them trued up. Throw on some meaty Bridgestones or Avon tires, spit and polish the aluminum and tuh-duh! A new bike. Oh yeah, I’d also want to remove the “2 into 2” pipes that are on the bike and clean them up, sell them, and use that money to get a “4 into 1” pipe for the bike. This gives it a much cleaner appearance, and also allows the bike to have a kickstand again. As it is, this bike is a pain to put up on the centerstand (it weighs in at around 500 pounds).

This will be a big project, but the best thing is that I’ll be doing it all myself so I can save tons of money. The only thing I won’t do myself is the painting, but I know people through the scoot club that can paint for cheap (fender, rims, tank, sidecovers). Once she is all done, I’ll sell it and grab a tidy profit, plus a rebuilt bike for my “portfolio.”

What do you think, chaps? Three bikes in my garage: small, medium, and introducing: VERY LARGE.

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, General Blabbing, High Kicks.

Jerry Reed died First day on the CB 750

4 Comments

  • 1. melissalion  |  September 5, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Oh my god, I’m making a pie today. Coincidence?

  • 2. Robert  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    But I’m always working on motorcycles.. and you are always making pies.

    But sure… coincidence. Yes.

  • 3. dave  |  September 6, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I think you should paint it yourself with the old flat black rattle can. I love rattle can paint jobs. They’re cheap and fragile, but they bear the mark of the owner, and add an intimate and personal aesthetic to the project. A good rattle can job is always a labor of love. If it were my bike, I’d paint the frame flat black and have the tank chromed.

  • 4. Robert  |  September 6, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I’m all for rattle can jobs for certain things, but I don’t think this motorcycle is one of them. The previous owner did a rattle can job on it, and it looks like absolute crap. I will definitely rattle can some of the stuff (the swing arm, for example) and I think I’m pretty good at it, but I’m going to leave it to the pros for the body stuff.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


