Oregon: Get Ready

August 18, 2008 at 9:13 am 18 comments

I’ll be in Oregon on Thursday until Monday. Technically, it is for “the reunion” but I’m most excited to see my family and relax on the porch swing at my parent’s house – clean air and quiet nights.

As the reunion goes, it will be interesting? I don’t know. I’m excited to see some friends I haven’t seen in a while, and I have a morbid curiosity about a few others. But honestly, it is a pretty low “priority” for the trip. In fact, I wouldn’t mind missing it all together.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Road Trips.

I drank the seven seas goof around

18 Comments

  • 1. Nate to the Rageous  |  August 18, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Dude, my reunion is this weekend!

  • 2. Robert  |  August 18, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Maybe we went to the same high school!

  • 3. melissalion  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I’m confused. I thought there was already a reunion. Charley went. Is there more than one high school in your hometown? I guess there could be, but I always pictured it as a one high school town. Turns out you were RICH with high schools!

    Have fun. Remember — you have better hair. And a smaller ass. Okay, that was my mantra for my reunion (which I did not attend).

  • 4. Charley  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:28 am

    There were three high schools in our little town. But “rich” isn’t the word to describe it, that’s for sure.

    Hey Robert, think there will be goats at your reunion?

  • 5. melissalion  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Three high schools? How did rivalries work? We had a lot of high schools. Our rival was the high school that Fast Times at Ridgemont High was based on. Hard to compete with that.

  • 6. lins  |  August 18, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Uncle RJ im soooooo excited to see you!! it seems like it has been years. call me when you get up here!

  • 7. Isabelle  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    There were goats in senior pictures so I won’t be surprised if there are goats at the fancy dinner.

  • 8. Robert  |  August 19, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Lindsey! Stop getting older! What’s this.. now you are using the internet? Next thing I know you’ll be driving a car and going to high school.

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  • 9. Kiala  |  August 19, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I didn’t go to my reunion…and now…oh this is horrible…my twenty year is coming up in um…three years.

    Good lord. I’d better be in the New Yorker by then.

  • 10. Robert  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Just write a letter to the editor!

  • 11. sis  |  August 20, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Just an FYI there are 4 High schools in the area. IVHS, HVHS, NVHS and GPHS.

    RJ oh my gosh I can’t even wait to see you.

    And Yes I am getting all caught up on your blog. It has been awhile.

    TO MELISSALION: My friend tried to order one of your books for me for my birthday, but they were all sold out on line. Way cool. I will get one soon. Linds and I want to read them.

  • 12. melissalion  |  August 21, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    ROBERTSSISTER: Hey, I just saw that you were commenting! Long time! They were sold out on line? God. Is that good? Bad? Robert has my email, ask him for it and I’ll just send you one. Or you can buy it. Thank you either way!

  • 13. melissalion  |  August 21, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Also ROBERTSSISTER: I tried making jam for the first time and not only did I burn the jeebers out of myself, but I don’t think the jam set up. What do I do, how do I know if it’s set? Does it need to set? Figured you know something about this being a native Oregonian and a cook. Basically it’s still sloshing around in the jar and it’s been 24 hours.

  • 14. sis  |  August 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Jam? or Jelly? Either way I dunno. I just follow the thingy in the cook book. Now Roberts other sister Tonia is the cook. I have made jam before and it never gets really set. I think that is because we don’t put in all the preservatives in it like the stores do. However it may set after a couple of weeks. If it doesn’t, sounds like either Ice cream topping or pancake syrup to me :} All good.

    Heather

  • 15. melissalion  |  August 24, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Jam, so is it still preserved or it going to get moldy and gross and I’ll feel responsible if I’ve given it to my neighbors? I mean, not setting up, I guess that’s okay, right? I have no idea.

  • 16. T  |  August 24, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Push on top of the jar, if it gives at all it is not sealed and you will have to keep it in the fridge and you will have to use it soon. If the top of the jar is firm, it will last a long time on the shelve weather it is set or not.

    Tonia, the other sister

  • 17. melissa lion  |  August 25, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Lids are firm. My neighbors won’t die of botulism. Excellent, thank you.

  • 18. Robert  |  August 26, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Jam and Jelly on Powerlines.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

