Getting sick from food: a timeline

August 9, 2008 at 10:23 am 5 comments

1980 – 2007: No instances

2007 – 2008: Three instances

1. Got sick from taco stand in Puerto Vallarta, drinking about a million beers and margaritas
2. Got food poisoning from Old Rasputin and sesame crackers, worst night of my life ever
3. Got sick yesterday off chicken quesadilla from Casablanca in Santa Monica.

Yes, somehow my stomach has become a complete wuss, and even the slightest bit of tainted food seems to have me running to the toilet. I barfed twice and slept about 3 good hours of sleep. The rest was awful. Fever dreams, etc.

But this is interesting.. at about 2 a.m. I was awaken by a very, very loud POP! I can’t describe this POP, other than it could have been 3 things:

– a gunshot (unlikely in this neighborhood)
– a car hitting another car (not unlikely in this neighborhood, as drunk drivers love to haul ass down Centinela. However, I didn’t hear any tire screeches)
– my slow slip into a fever-induced insanity

I got up after the sound and looked outside, but couldn’t see anything or hear anything afterward. I asked Jaxon in the morning, and he didn’t hear it either. That guy sleeps like a brick, but this was LOUD. So perhaps it was my chicken quesadilla madness. But I’ll ask my neighbors and see if someone else heard it.

Finally, to cap off the food-sickness post. I woke up this morning early and decided it was pancake time. I went and picked up some veggie oil (looking for wrecked cars and/or bullet holes… nothing!) and made 4 quite nice pancakes. I opened up my maple syrup which I’ve had for quite a while now, and poured it all over my nice pancakes. And the syrup had gone bad… like weird mold or something in the syrup. So I ruined my pancakes.

Entry filed under: Aww crap!, General Blabbing. Tags: .

cats special weekend treat

5 Comments

  • 1. melissalion  |  August 9, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    One time I got sick from pesto. And another time from California Pizza Kitchen. And then, of course, the Whole Bowl.

    When I was pregnant I kept drinking soured milk because for whatever reason, I couldn’t smell the bad dairy. Never got sick though.

  • 2. charley  |  August 9, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Isabelle wasn’t feeling well last night, either, so it wasn’t just you. If someone were to find out what we all ate, Jaxon probably would have been the top pick for being the one who got sick. (“I’ll just take whatever’s in your trash can,” he said.)

  • 3. Isabelle  |  August 10, 2008 at 7:36 am

    If you’d have eaten the pancakes you could have added a fourth time to your food poisoning timeline. Shame you didn’t think of this.

  • 4. V  |  August 10, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    What a sad pancake instance. Totes bums.

  • 5. Robert  |  August 11, 2008 at 7:43 am

    The rest of the weekend was food-poisoning free!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


