cats

August 8, 2008 at 1:09 pm 10 comments


This is my cat Oscar, who died last year. She was the best cat. Ever.

If I had the right apartment, I’d get a cat tomorrow. I like having a cat around, and I think they are superior to hanging out with gross butt-sniffing smelly beasts (don’t tell Jaxon I called him that). However, my current apartment only has one bathroom, and out of respect for my roommate I would want my own bathroom to put a litter box in. Also, I would want to have a safer neighborhood for my cat in case she got out. I don’t want to lose her to a gang shooting. No, by safer neighborhood I mean I live right on Centinela where people love to drive like crazy assholes.

Of course I would adopt a cat from a shelter because there are too many stray cats that need a good home. So why in the world would you buy one? That’s my feel good endorsement of the day.

I bring all this up to share a hilarious story from Michael Showalter. He was on “The Sound of Young America” which had a live show in New York recently. If I haven’t suggested that you listen to this radio show yet, I must not like you very much. Because it has rapidly become my new favorite radio show.

“ANYHOO” you can click here to go to the show’s page, and either listen to the entire radio show or see a bonus VIDEO of Michael Showalter’s cat adoption problems. Along with some poetry that’ll blow your mind?

Entry filed under: Aww crap!, cats, General Blabbing, Radio. Tags: , , , , .

Garage Rules Getting sick from food: a timeline

10 Comments

  • 1. charley  |  August 8, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I love Michael Showalter and I love The Sound of Young America! It’s become my favorite radio show since you suggested it to me a while back. Thanks, dude. I owe you big time.

  • 2. alex  |  August 8, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Well, I can now see who my real friends are.

    No matter, because I’ve got my own favorite radio show, The Tavis Smiley Show, with host Tavis Smiley.

    It deals mostly with issues pertaining to African Americans.

    I get a kick out of it, so sue me.

  • 3. Robert  |  August 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I think both of these comments prove that I’m a real winner.

  • 4. t  |  August 8, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    This is sooo wierd, I had a cat named Tavis! No, I’m serious!

  • 5. Robert  |  August 8, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Why didn’t I think of that! Tavis and Winchester. I forgot about those cats.

  • 6. melissa lion  |  August 9, 2008 at 5:07 am

    I’m up too early to think of something to say other than why in hell did I agree to do this two day film thingie. It’s where people write and film a movie in 48 hours. And I was like, “sure I have a three year old you can use!” And then the call time was 7:30am and they were supposed to tell us if we had to show up to it by six am and so I’m up and checking my email despite doing a podcast, with drinking, last night until 1am. I am regretting this and cannot post it on my own blog. But I’m am upset because now the cast list will be up at 7am. So I’m sitting here, tired and cranky.

    You can have my cat. She’s 12 and 20 pounds. And she meows like this: SQUAWK!

  • 7. Robert  |  August 9, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Are you sure your cat isn’t a large bird?

  • 8. melissalion  |  August 9, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Wouldn’t that be cool if she were an ostrich?

    Her name is Monkey. You can imagine the confusion when Archer was learning his animals.

  • 9. Kiala  |  August 10, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Megan’s cat’s name is Monkey, too.

    And we call Arthur Monkey all the time.

    Right now, I’m trying to convince ZZ that she’s just a really big cat. A really big cat who uses the litterbox and doesn’t make me walk her 4 times a day.

  • 10. Robert  |  August 11, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Dogs are such greedy, needy beasts!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


