Garage Rules

August 6, 2008 at 1:08 pm 4 comments

1. No smoking
2. All tools get wiped down and put back where they belong
3. All oil/lubricants/spraycans get wiped down before they get put back on the shelf
4. Floor gets swept after the bikes get put in
5. Close refrigerator door lightly, as it causes the CD player to skip
6. Empty the trash after each project – beer bottles get recycled
7. All spare parts get put on shelves and up off the floor
8. Turn off the lights when you’re done

If I’m working on a project, please peruse the following criteria to determine how/if I should be approached:

If I am milling about the garage, please enter. Beer is appreciated, but most likely I have some in the fridge and you are welcome to it.

If I am working on a bike, take a second to check my general demeanor. If I notice you and say hi, this can be taken as an invitation in. If I stop working on the bike, then this is an indication I’m ready for a break and some conversation. If I continue working on the bike, but still talk to you, then grab a beer and prepare for a few more minutes of work mixed with spirited conversation.

If you approach the garage and there are tools strewn about, take caution. This can either mean I’m extremely busy, or extremely mad. Either way, approaching with an offering of salty snacks or strong drink is encouraged. Take a look at my hands and face. If the former is bleeding and the latter is red and smeared with grease, take the following actions: Avoid eye contact. Don’t make any big motions that can be interpreted as threatening. Slowly back away for 15-20 feet, then turn and walk away slowly (don’t run!). If you hear any screaming or cursing, cover head area and be prepared for flying tools.

During these warm summer nights where we all enjoy being outside, remember these rules when approaching my garage for the fun and safety of all involved! Mazel tov!

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

T-Bone Burnett’s “House of Mirrors” cats

4 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  August 6, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    These are the exact same rules I have about Bubble Baths.

  • 2. t  |  August 6, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    and in the kitchen!

  • 3. melissalion  |  August 7, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Spirited conversation ahoy!

  • 4. Robert  |  August 8, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Rereading those rules in both situations is both entertaining and enlightening!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


