Go Back Snowball’s “Climb”

July 11, 2008 at 3:30 pm

From Calling Zero:

Climb through the chambers
I’m hiding and seeking
The strangest mask I wore
The dumbest costume I swore
I’d never wear again

I’ve been all over
I’ve been nowhere
I’ll go everywhere
Before it’s all over

Where is the wind?
Where are all my friends?
Where are all my dead friends?

Robert Pollard and Mac McCaughan’s collaboration “Go Back Snowball” has a lot of highlights for such a small record, but “Climb” may be one of the overlooked.

Opening with dischordant guitar and keyboard, it immediately blooms into, quite simply, a really awesome distorted guitar hook that makes me immediately turn the song up.

The song ends on a weird, sad note. Clocks in at just over 2 minutes.

I’ve written about Calling Zero and my favorite song on the album before, right here.

Entry filed under: High Kicks, Music, Posterity. Tags: .

Gold! 4 days


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

