9 days

July 9, 2008 at 10:15 pm 8 comments

Spent 5 hours in the garage tonight, prepping the engine for the new crank, etc. Basically, it is sitting there waiting for the crank to be put in. The crank is waiting for me to put the new bearing on it (as well as the flywheel side bearing) but this is a lot harder than it sound. I had the flywheel engine case in the refrigerator with the bearing sitting on the freezer side for about an hour, but it didn’t budge. Didn’t even try the crank. I’m going to make a phone call to my secret westside 2-stroke expert to see if he can do it, other wise I’m going to shoe cobbler that sucker on there and hope I don’t ruin a brand new $150 Mazzuchelli race cut crank.

After that is done, I can seal up the cases and put the top end on. Last night at Westside Scooter Club’s wrench night, I chambfered the ports on my new cylinder and prepped it to be dropped on the cases. AFter that, I think timing the flywheel will take most of my time. Then I’ll throw the tire and new pipe on there, and I’ll have a complete engine ready to be set into my frame.

I sat and looked at my frame for about 15 minutes tonight. Granted, I’ve been drinking Rolling Rocks all night, and I was listening to Wild Honey, but I had an epiphany about Vespas. They are so damn simple and elegant and beautiful and awesome. Once you get your head around the engine, it is pretty easy to comprehend. And if you are only doing a top-end rebuild, (and own something like a P200) engine access is amazingly simple. The frame is stamped out of a single piece, and everything makes sense if you just look at it. And people wonder why I talk shit about non-Italian scooters. Even modern Vespas are way more complicated and confusing (don’t get me wrong… I really miss my LX150). Basically, what I’m saying is I’m in love with my scooter.

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, cats, drinking, High Kicks, Vespa.

Circus Devils’ Nicky Highpockets 8 Days

8 Comments

  • 1. Charley  |  July 9, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Where does the processor go?

  • 2. Nate to the Rageous  |  July 10, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I thought I was your secret westside 2-stroke expert.

  • 3. melissa lion  |  July 10, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Well, last night I opened the new Phillipa Gregory book. It’s an advanced copy because I’m special. It’s historical fiction, a bodice ripper as it were, told from the point of view of (I KID YOU NOT) Mary Queen of Scots.

    MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS!

    Oh man, this book is going to be good. (Almost as good as chambering the ports on the cylinder and prepping it to drop in the cases.)

    I thought about doing a face mask, but I don’t own that because my skin is very sensitive. And I wanted some ice cream, but my chocolate chocolate chip had freezer bite, so I just lay in my Egyptian cotton sheets and read about the Tudors.

    So, what shoes are you wearing to your party?????

  • 4. Robert  |  July 10, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Multi-reply!!!

    charlie: the processor goes on the seat, behind the handlebars.

    nate: you are my NORTHwestside 2-stroke expert.

    melissa: ???!?!?! Greatest string of non-sequiturs in a comment as of yet! I’ll be wearing my standard, falling apart/held together by tape converse.

  • 5. t  |  July 10, 2008 at 9:47 am

    The most disturbing part is that Melissa allowed Chocolate, Chocolate chip sit long enough for freezer burn. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU WOMAN!

  • 6. melissalion  |  July 10, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    T: Jesus. I fucking know. But seriously, I was going to LA and I had it in my head that I needed to diet beforehand, and so I did and I ate yogurt and no lunch and a tiny bit for dinner, and when I got to LA, all of my old friends were like “you look no different than the last time I saw you.” Because what had happened is I moved to Portland and ate my weight in ice cream and cheese and beer and I just lost everything I had gained over nine months. You can ask your brother about it because when I saw him in LA, I was so stupid from hunger and dieting, all I could say is “Can you believe no one said I was thin?!? And YOU SHOULD GOOGLE ME.”

    I have no idea what your parents did to raise such a nice person, because he really should have slapped my face. But he didn’t. He was very nice about the whole thing.

  • 7. t  |  July 10, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Trust me……..thin is HIGHLY overrated! Eat and be happy, thats my motto. What in the hell is wrong with ice cream, cheese and beer. I think if more Americans ate like that the world would be a happier place. All this dieting is making us a grumpy people. AS A MATTER OF FACT, THATS WHAT I’M HAVING FOR DINNER TONIGHT. YAAAA HOOOO!

  • 8. melissalion  |  July 10, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I ate beer for dinner. And burritos. And no ice cream even though I want some so bad but no one would fetch me some gelato and after the beer and the burritos, I’m comatose.

    Off to read about the Tudors now!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


