fell right off the internet

July 7, 2008 at 8:51 am 8 comments

What’s this? A blog? I’ll update it!

Watched the best fireworks show I’ve seen in San Clemente for the 4th. Also did some swimming in the ocean and visiting with old friends. One of the old friends has a kid… and although I generally enjoy kids, you need to walk a fine line with them. Be friends with them, but not BEST FRIENDS. Because then they end up dumping sand on you all the time and telling you stories about ponies.

I also realized when I got home that night that I had forgotten to bring my new waterproof flash videocamera, which would have been cool to test out in the ocean.

Went and watched “Easy Rider” at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery, and it was just as bad and boring as I remembered. It had been over 10 years since I had originally watched it, but I’ll go see anything at the Cemetery screenings. Finished up the night at the new Father’s Office in Culver City – snot a bad bar for beer selection but can’t really see myself hanging out there.

Also rearranged the apartment and put the record player in the living room, but still haven’t listened to my “Little Green Onion Man” EP. Party this Saturday at my place!

Ok – now that I’m at work and getting paid to surf the internet, I’ll do some catching up. Anything I missed? How was your fourth?

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, High Kicks, Los Angeles.

Long Weekend equals Lost Metropolis footage found!

8 Comments

  • 1. Charley  |  July 7, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Yeah, you totally have a new best friend. Remember when you played “life facts” for an hour? Seemed fun, but I couldn’t figure out the rules.

  • 2. Robert  |  July 7, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I’ll explain it sometime – then we can play for an hour.

    Have you ever………….. touched a frog?

  • 3. melissalion  |  July 7, 2008 at 11:14 am

    *shhhh* I had the same thought on Easy Rider. But I saw it with a cute boy and I was 19 and it was at the Roxy cinema in San Francisco and I had to act like I got it. I WAS 19 AND THIS BOY WAS THE BASSIST IN DANCE HALL CRASHERS. I had to like it.

    He took me to see Wild Bunch too. And Last Tango in Paris. And I was really confused.

    It’s no wonder he dumped me on Valentine’s Day.

    I feel better now. A little. Okay, no, I’m crying into my tea.

    GOD, I THINK I NEED A BEER. Just to calm the voices. And the typing. You know?

  • 4. Robert  |  July 7, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    First off, have beer tea. It is pretty good!

    Second off – listen to the voices.

    Third off – motor away.

  • 5. Dave  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Yeah, I’ve always been disappointed that there isn’t more easy ridin’ in Easy Rider. I don’t understand why many people think it is the best motorcycle movie of all time. That movie (I can’t remember the title) about the two harley riding girls who meet in rehab and decide to find the motorcycle that Peter Fonda rode in Easy Rider? That movie is more enjoyable than Easy Rider.

  • 6. Kiala  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    And then he just DIES at the end.

    All that he gets fucking dead-ed!

    Stupid hippies.

  • 7. Robert  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Dave, what about Roadside Prophets? About 500x better than Easy Rider.

    FREE FOOD FOR THR POOR!

  • 8. dave  |  July 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Oh man, Roadside Prophets is so much better than Easy Rider. I’ve been planning a viewing of Roadside Prophets for the near future. And by planning I mean thinking of it when I’m in some inconvenient location, nowhere near a pen and paper, and then completely forgetting that it exists the second that I cross the threshold into the video store. Have you ever seen Eat the Peach? I heard it sucks, but the “Wall of Death” concept is alluring.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


