Wonders – War and Wedding

June 27, 2008 at 11:39 am 4 comments

I’ve already written about the entire Airport 5 album Tower in the Fountain of Sparks here. But I think “War and Wedding” is one of the most amazing songs ever written… so it deserves its own post.

First off – you can listen to the song here.

There is something that just amazingly haunting and beautiful about this song. Both war and weddings involve ceremony, and the organs in the background of the song feel right at home. As for the lyrics (included after the break), they aren’t as pointed as Pollard’s “Sing For Your Meat” but they do bring up the imagery of lives shattered by war. Everything about the song feels old.

It seems that in every generation, with wars come weddings. How many stories do we hear of soldiers who have died that have young wives or even children waiting for them at home? Perhaps marriage becomes a link back home for many young soldiers – something to look forward to and perhaps a reason for them to do what they are doing. Unfortunately when some of them don’t come back, all we can do is sweep up the pieces and make room for the next. It is heartbreaking.

I don’t have my Airport 5 album here with me, but I wonder if it is Tobin Sprout joining in on the chorus?

I’d love to hear your interpretation.

Lyrics:

…I’m over and in, yet

I’m over and in
to go to pieces
in single file
each piece marching
merrily off to war and wedding

I’m sweeping away
the broken pieces
clearing space
for the next who will go
merrily off to war and wedding

each one dreaming himself
merrily off to war and wedding

single file, yeah

Entry filed under: (Correct) Lyrics, Music, Wonders. Tags: .

Abort HOT LINKS! (this one is on the house)

4 Comments

  • 1. Dad  |  June 27, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I can speak from experience. Your mom was what held me together while in Viet Nam. Even though we weren’t married till my last cruise. Just knowing that she was waiting for me back in the states was a powerful pull. Talk to any soldier or sailor. It doesn’t matter of which generation or which war. Because if a girl friend or wife was waiting for them at home, it gives a man a powerful will to survive and come home.
    You have heard of the ” Dear John” letters. These could be devastating to a guy up to his ears in blood and gore. It was his link to home and survival. A lot of guys swallowed bullets over ” Dear John’s”
    I will thank God till the day I die that your mom was there for me and I wasn’t in the weeds like the grunts.
    Lots of babies are born 9 months after the guys come home and there is a damn good reason why this happens. Think about it. That gal back home
    was all that soldier thought about for maybe two and three years. And this is all he wants when he comes home.
    Your mom was all I thought about.
    Dad

  • 2. Robert  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing the story, Pop!

  • 3. Kiala  |  June 29, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    A. Your dad is great. Thank you Robert’s Dad for telling that story.

    and

    2. I now realize why you and Dave are such good friends.

    I am a little drunk, But I MEAN it.

  • 4. Robert  |  June 30, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Oh man.. I read your comment and thought it said it was posted at 11:26 AM. I was thinking “Yeah! Go Kiala!”

    Don’t worry, I’m still thinking that.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


