Abort

June 26, 2008 at 9:56 pm 5 comments

Today has been frustrating, to say the least.

First off – my motorcycle is idling/running like crap. I know it is the carbs, and I have really awesome racing carbs to replace them, but I need backup transportation because of Murphy’s Law.

So that’s my Vespa, and I’ve received everything except one part. Unfortunately, I can’t get started until I get my case ports matched to my new Polini 130 kit, something that requires shaving away the aluminum and possible welding extra aluminum on some parts. This I can’t do. So hopefully Bar Italia can do it this weekend, I have to call tomorrow. They really are the best in Los Angeles. So, if this happens, I can spend my weekend putting my engine back together. I’m really crossing my fingers here.

Back to the motorcycle. My idle is just all over the map – I think I’ve traced it down to my left carb but no matter what I do with adjustments of idle and the air/gas mixture screw, it just does all this unpredictable crap. I think there must be a blockage in my low-speed jet. Tonight, I was going to a concert in Echo Park and I smelled oil… a very distinct oil smell. It was my oil, I’m leaking out of my head gasket for some reason. Not copious amount, but enough for me to get a whiff of half oil/half synthetic. So add that to my list.

Anyway, got to the concert and my bike is just way too hot, oily, and idling like a pitbull with emphysema (brwargle, putt putt rawgle rawgle). Alex calls and his car is kaput, and there is still 2 hours before the band I wanted to see will even go on. I decide I’m in no mood to be in The Echo by myself for three hours, so I decide to bag it. I swing by Amoeba on the way back and pick up The Circus Devils latest album, “Sgt. Disco.” 

So now I’m waiting for my bike to cool down so I can go pull off that left carb and see what the hell is going on. Of course, this is the carb on the side of the scrambler pipes, so I’m going to try and finagle the carb past the pipes so I don’t have to take everything off. Maybe I’ll just get up early and do all this tomorrow.

I’m in a very, very, very bad mood today.

Entry filed under: Aww crap!, garbage sacks.

Hello, love: The Ace Cafe Racer Wonders – War and Wedding

5 Comments

  • 1. melissa  |  June 26, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I hate it when things don’t work out they way you want them to.

  • 2. Charley  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Dude, I have no idea what you’re talking about. The only carb I ever heard of was on the side of a pipe. Wooooo! FOUR TWENTY 4 EVA!

    But I hope you fix your bike.

  • 3. Robert  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I was so uncool in high school I don’t even know what that means.

  • 4. alex  |  June 30, 2008 at 9:09 am

    I’m almost certain that’s football lingo.

  • 5. Robert  |  June 30, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I only watch futbol, so I’m afraid I have no idea what you are talking about.

    (pretentious jerkbag voice)


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


