Full story on Jaxon’s accident

June 19, 2008 at 8:10 pm 13 comments


The scene of the accident, after most of the oil and glass were picked up and ground by the traffic

Jaxon got back from New Orleans about midnight on Wednesday – I was still pretty sick but went out and checked out his bike, talked for about an hour then went to bed. The next day I was pretty excited to have my buddy back and hear his stories from the trip, so I called him and told him I was taking off work early and we can meet at Swingers and talk about the trip.

Blah blah blah, talked about the trip and general stuff. There were some things he wanted to check out on the bike, so I was eager to get it back to the garage and take it on a test drive and get my hands in the bike. 

It was about 5:30, so traffic heading south on Lincoln was busy. I love splitting lanes, and maybe do it when I shouldn’t. His bike is a little bigger and a lot heavier, so at the first light I asked if he wanted to split lanes. He said no, but when we got a look at the traffic he said yes. So I gave him the lead since he was a wider bike and he would be able to gauge if he could squeeze between, so we could stay together.

We did this for about a mile. Traffic came to a standstill, and at the next light for some reason I took the lead on splitting. I started up the middle and looked back at my mirror and it wasn’t adjusted. As I was splitting lanes I adjusted my mirror in time to catch Jaxon’s legs in the air and what looked to be his bike in the air. I couldn’t really tell as I have a small bar-end mirror and my bike vibrates like a cheap hotel room bed. I adjusted it again and could clearly see Jaxon laying in the street and his bike behind him.

At this point, I shit my pants. I thought someone had hit Jaxon head on, and I thought my friend was dead. I turned my bike around in the lane and lane-split against the flow of traffic (in retrospect, not recommended). When I got back, Jaxon was standing up, holding the detached seat of his bike. He had taken his helmet off, which also immediately freaked me out as this is the last thing you should do if you are in an accident. I parked my bike and ran out into the scene. Only one person had stopped, Jaxon looked dazed and was walking around, and people were driving around the accident like it wasn’t any big thing.

I told Jaxon to go sit down on the curb and looked at his head, asked him some questions. There wasn’t any blood and I inspected his helmet, there weren’t any major impact marks. I told him to just sit there while I tried to figure out what the fuck even just happened. The scuffs on his skin started to turn red and bleed, and he was pretty dazed. The motorcycle was a wreck. It was laying on its side leaking all of its oil into a big pool in the street, and there was glass and bits of plastic everywhere. I picked up the bike and set it on the center stand (damn it is a heavy bike). People just kept driving by, and only the person right in front of Jaxon stopped. He was very verbose and kept saying “sweet Jesus, I saw everything! Hoo boy! Wow! Oh man!” There was also a guy in a car with damage on it, but he was oddly out of it and not too concerned about the whole thing. Jaxon kept getting up and walking around, I kept telling him “Hey man, just sit down and relax, wait for the ambulence.”

I yelled at the two guys “Could you please block traffic so I can get this bike out of the street?” They were talking with each other and as people drove by (some honking) and looked at me holding up this wreck of a bike in a pool of oil in the middle of Lincoln, I started to get a little pissed. I didn’t want to get hit and I wanted to get the bike out of street so I could talk to my friend. So I yelled at the guys “SOMEONE HELP ME GET THIS BIKE OUT OF THE FUCKING STREET!” No response, so Jaxon got up and came out to help, which is the opposite of what I wanted. But we pulled the bike onto the side of the road and tried to assess exactly what just happened.

Long story short – Jaxon was behind me and was in the left-hand side of the two lane road. Both lanes were coming to a stop, and Jaxon was about to pull into the center and follow me lane splitting, when the guy behind him “dozed” (his words) and slammed into Jaxon, basically making his bike do a standing wheelie and flipping Jaxon off the bike and onto his head/right side. The car curled the rear fender underneath and caught on the rubber of the tire, sort of like if you were to put a thread spool down and “spin” it by pressing down on the back of it. It forced the bike upward and of course with Jaxon on it.


The dozer’s car with the almost cartoon-like shape of Jaxon’s license plate bracket/tired impacted into it.

The paramedics arrived and checked Jaxon out – he declined going to the hospital and they did some quicky first-aid to his bleeding. I ran out in the street and picked up some more parts from the bike. We got information from the one witness who stopped, then Jaxon exchanged information with the guy. As we were done with this, the cops finally showed up and filled out an accident report. I called a tow truck and loaded up the bike, and about an hour after the entire thing ended.

When we got back and cleaned up all of his road rash and talked for about an hour about what exactly happened. It was all pretty surreal. When I first saw him wreck, about 5 things went through my head as I flipped around. I thought someone had tried to change lanes while he was splitting and crushed him like those two barges crushed that speedboat in The Last Crusade (go between them, are you crazy!?). Then when I couldn’t see that that had happened, I thought someone had hit coming the other direction, etc. He was pretty lucky traffic was going as slow as it was, we estimate he got hit going about 25.

We brought the bike down to the garage, and the initial assessment of “totaled” cooled down once I started looking at the bike. The frame is ok, except for a small bend on the seat frame, which isn’t load bearing and would be cut off if he were going to cafe convert it anyway. The headlight and most of the controls are destroyed, and the tank and a huge dent in it. I was down looking at the forks this morning, and the tubes look ok but something seems off.


Instant Cafe Racer conversion! Just get rear-ended!

The back wheel is surprisingly in good shape. The impact actually moved the wheel backward, instead of forward. I’m guessing this is because of the way the car hit the bike, the wheel stood in place and the bike tried to move, pulling the frame. The chain was completely tight, no slack. I loosened everything and gave the tire a spin, and it’s not bad. New sprockets and chain of course, but he was going to do that anyway. The seat is completely ripped off, lots of little things. But the good thing is that Jaxon is ok – no broken bones or head injuries. I can’t describe the feeling when I was riding back against traffic, I was really really scared I was going to see something horrible.

So yeah – a strange evening to be sure.

 

Entry filed under: Aww crap!, Los Angeles.

hoo dawgies The next two weeks

13 Comments

  • 1. Charley  |  June 19, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Shit!

  • 2. isabelle  |  June 20, 2008 at 5:38 am

    geeze

  • 3. Sis  |  June 20, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Holy Moley!

  • 4. T  |  June 20, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Holy Shit, gee whiz, and damn it all to hell!

  • 5. melissalion  |  June 20, 2008 at 11:27 am

    I’m glad he’s okay.

  • 6. Robert  |  June 20, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I completely agree with all your sentiments!!!

  • 7. Dad  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Bin there dun that. Got clobbered by a Fuller Brush salesman in a Chevy Impala while riding by Honda 160 on Artesia Blvd.
    I feel really bad for Jaxon. All the way up from New Orleans and now this.
    I think you guys should sell all the bikes and get a used Yugo.
    Dad

  • 8. Kiala  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad he wasn’t hurt.

    I like Jaxson.

  • 9. Jenny  |  June 20, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Jesus…..glad he’s ok.

  • 10. melissalion  |  June 20, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    That was such a scary story.

  • 11. Robert  |  June 20, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Pop – I think that’s a great idea. A Yugo will be more economical in the long run, and everyone knows how much ladies love Yugoslavian automobiles.

    Next time we talk I want the full 160 story.

  • 12. dave  |  June 20, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I’m glad that Jaxon came through the crash ok, and I’m glad that you were there to help him. Stupid motorist. I’d like to let my fist doze on his face! That bike is going to be kick ass, though.

  • 13. Triple Threat « shoes on powerlines  |  September 5, 2008 at 11:01 am

    […] Remember this? […]


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

