fractured knee, calamaties

June 4, 2008 at 1:20 pm 10 comments

Does it make sense to import a book? Why do I have to import a book, like a rare Japanese-only Smiths 45? Shouldn’t books be released worldwide? This is the book I want to order:

Here are some excerpts from the blurb at Amazon.co.uk:

“Riding a bike removes the need for clutter, toys, rubbish that other men have to take on holiday. If I want adrenaline, I’ll rush a giddy overtake, not rent a jet ski.” The world through the eyes of Dan Walsh is never less than Technicolor, and always uninhibited, rebellious and on the edge. Not since the days of Jupiter’s Travels has one man embarked on such an angry, narcotic-fuelled bike trek around the world.

“I get my bum pinched by a tranny, my pocket picked by a grifter and get a gun pulled on me by a one-eyed, one-armed midget who’s upset cause I winked at him. These are the days that must happen to you.” Soaked in adrenaline and coruscatingly funny, Dan Walsh is the rightful heir to Ted Simon as the pre-eminent biker-rebel of our generation.

Now I’m not sure that they are correct referring to Ted Simon’s journey around the world as “angry  and narcotic-fueled.” Because the copy sounds like they are. “Not since ‘Jupiter’s Travels’….”

And I’m a little nervous about the rebel imagery they are trying to invoke with the book. “He took drugs and it was insane and he went around the world! No one keeps him down! ARRROOOOO!” Because the motorcycle/rebel imagery went out the window a million years ago. Ever since Honda said “You meet the nicest people on a Honda” the motorcycle has grown from fringe interest to everyday transportation.

However – I still desperately want to get my hands on this book. I love travel books, especially if they choose to use two-wheels to do it. I guess I’ll just wait for Amazon.com to catch up.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Road Trips.

Control on DVD today Getting nothing but static.. static in my attic..

10 Comments

  • 1. melissalion  |  June 4, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Okay, so you have to import a book because books are only released in the countries where they are published. So, if you want your book released in England, you need a contract with a British publisher, even if you have an American publisher. But sometimes you sign a contract and that includes rights for other countries. This book is only available in the UK, so you have to order it from the UK. Amazon US will never stock it unless it comes out by an American publisher.

    You do have choices, though. There are stores that import books. Like my most favoritest bookstore in LA, Skylight books in Los Feliz. You call them, give them the ISBN (that’s the 13 digit fingerprint of each book) and they’ll tell you if they can get it.

    And, really, you should go through an indie bookstore, because like record stores, bookstores need our support. Without indie bookstores, new voices and stories that don’t fit into the narrow confines of B&N and Border’s book buyers’ tastes will never be told.

    So, you’re saving the world by ordering it through Skylight.

    Right, I was a bookseller for five years. CAN YOU TELL???

    And Skylight is great. Near a yummy sushi place. You should check it out.

  • 2. Robert  |  June 4, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Skylight books? I’ll have to google it… as soon as I figure out how.

    HOW.

    Seriously though – I’m going to call and give them the ISBN right now. Yay for supporting local businesses!

  • 3. b  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:29 am

    All this talk about motorbikes reminds me of Heat Vision and Jack.. anyway, you should just write your own book, i’m sure you have the stories.

  • 4. Richard Hyett  |  June 5, 2008 at 8:59 am

    I read Jupiters Travels in 1980, never would you have described Ted as “angry, narcotic-fuelled “. Nor were any of his books “Soaked in adrenaline and coruscatingly funny”. That said, they sold very well, hence the hopeful reference to Dan Walsh being his heir. Dan Walsh has been a regular contributer to Bike Magazine for years. He models himself more on Hunter S Thompson.
    I enjoyed Running with the Moon, John Bealby

  • 5. jenna  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:46 am

    my favoret book is the tao of poo and you should read it and we can start a book club but i’ll run it because ive read it before one time.

  • 6. alex  |  June 5, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Print is dead.

    Ok, who brought the dog?

  • 7. Robert  |  June 5, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I collect spores, molds, and fungus.

  • 8. The Murphy Phantom  |  June 6, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    The Murphy Phantom once rode a 501 Maico. Who am I??

  • 9. Robert  |  June 6, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    (Hey Pop!)

  • 10. Dad  |  June 7, 2008 at 8:18 am

    I thought that I was being so clever. DANG!
    Pop


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


