Control on DVD today

June 3, 2008 at 10:05 am 8 comments

My favorite movie of 2007 is out today on DVD (finally). I hardly ever buy DVDs anymore, but I’ll be picking this one up because it is just really, really amazing.

Up for some more Joy Division? Don’t forget to check out 24 Hour Party People – a really funny and energetic movie about Factory Records. It likes to play with the 4th wall, like High Fidelity. Records. God I love them.

Other recent acquisitions:

Premillenial Maakies!

The first 5 years of Tony Millionaire’s Maakies – most of which I haven’t read and aren’t archived online. It is great to see the relatively “crude” style of the first strips and the way Drinky Crow’s style evolved over the first two years.

And when I say “crude” I mean “way better than I could ever draw but a little sloppier than later strips.” Basically – I’m afraid of Tony Millionaire happening across my blog and thinking I’m insulting him when I’m not. He’s my comic hero! (and if you think I’m being silly – hey, it may have happened before)

Entry filed under: Dork Alert!, General Blabbing, High Kicks, Movies.

you may think your alone but you may think again fractured knee, calamaties

8 Comments

  • 1. melissalion  |  June 4, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Okay, why can’t post a comment?

  • 2. melissalion  |  June 4, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Oh, shit! It worked.

    I can’t even remember what I was going to write, but I think it was something about Control and that’s not the movie about double agent spies.

    Whatever. I was just feeling lame because I tried posting two comments and they disappeared.

  • 3. melissalion  |  June 4, 2008 at 8:06 am

    And now I’m drunk with commenting power. And last night’s Knob Creek.

    I’m backing away from the internet now.

  • 4. Kiala  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I really liked 24 Hour Party People.

    On the serious.

  • 5. The Murphy Phantom  |  June 4, 2008 at 11:18 am

    The Phantom misses your blogs. If you know who this is, ask me about the Poconos.

  • 6. Robert  |  June 4, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Melissa – why all the comment problems? Blame it on SoCal internet.

  • 7. Robert  |  June 4, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Dear Murphy Phantom,

    I don’t know who you are, but can I ask about the Poconos anyway?

  • 8. Sis  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I know who you are…I want to know about the Poconos.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

