you may think your alone but you may think again

June 2, 2008 at 10:25 am 10 comments

First things first:

Awesome

Howdy, reader!

I was taking a break… for no good reason. My fingers were tired of typing?

This weekend was fun – I like to start weekends early. The whole “Thursday is the new Friday” bit. I played pool on Wednesday and played the best I’ve ever played. My entire game was together and it felt pretty on. I played at this bar called “The Lost and Found” which is some sort of time warp where the customers all aged but the bar stayed the same. Pretty not bad jukebox, but they had “Born to Run” on there so I immediately played Backstreets.

The next night I played pool with Jaxon and I played absolute gash awful. Worst pool I’ve played in a long time. Funny how that goes, right?

This weekend was quite delightful. I had drinks with Melissa Lion from MelissaLion.com fame. She is also some sort of author apparently, and she told me I should Google her. I don’t know anything about Google, but I tried to look her up on Myspace but she isn’t on there – so I’m not sure what she is talking about. But she is just as funny and charming in person as she is on the internet webzone.

I also cut my hair shorter than it’s been in a while. Feels good, but my helmet feels too big now.

I was thinking on my way to work this morning how I have this new “ethic” where if I don’t do something myself, I feel like I’m cheating. Like when I took my motorcycle tire in to get it fixed by someone else, not only did I pay 9 times more than I would if I had the tools to do it myself, I also felt like an amateur. I’m not trying to get all manly on you, reader, but it feels good to do things yourself.

Here is to another week!

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

like bathing in the cool waters of a fragrant ocean Control on DVD today

10 Comments

  • 1. DIY  |  June 2, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    It’s okay to get manly. It does feel good to do things yourself!

    in other news…

    Have you heard any of the new Mates of State album?

    M-16

  • 2. Robert  |  June 2, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I’ve only listened to one of the songs – but it is on my list of albums to buy. I’ll send you some songs from “Bring it Back.”

  • 3. Sis  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Hey, Glad you had a great weekend. Ours was busy. Relay was huge this year. 115 teams. It filled the entire inside of the track with tents.

    Also I saw Indiana Jones. Way cool. Nice way to set it up to continue on with the kid. I like Shia LeBeouf, he’s fun. I liked him in Transformers too. I like that they kept the same style as the last 3.

    OH by the way, Mr. Computer man. Don’t know how to Google. How hard is that. Go to google and type in Melissa Lion she is all over the Internet. She has written at least 2 published books by Random House and 3rd is due out sometime this year. One book Upstream was recently optioned for a motion picture.

    So little brother, just a little advice from sister. Google before drinks.

    “to Melissa… Now I have to get your books for my 14 year old daughter.”

  • 4. melissalion  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I forgot to mention that your sister is my agent.

    To Robert’s sis: Thank you! Please do buy my books, but I always warn people that there is sex in them. It’s great sex, but sex. But still buy them.

    Also, I left a comment earlier. Where did it go? Have I been spammed? It was a funny and self-deprecating, to ease my embarrassment about telling another person that he should google me.

  • 5. Sis  |  June 2, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    To Melissa – What’s a little good sex in a book. They see more on commercials and cartoons. At least when they read about they can use their Imaginations.

  • 6. Kiala  |  June 2, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Do you even understand how weird it is to me that you guys had drinks together and maybe talked about me a little and I’ll bet Robert told you all about how quiet I used to be and how short my hair was and sometimes I would wear pajama pants as pants and….okay…maybe you didn’t talk about me at all.

    You talked about me, right?

  • 7. melissalion  |  June 2, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    We talked about you. I heard the stomach ache story. And I said, “Are you sure she had a stomach ache.” And he was sure, and then I secretly rolled my eyes because boys have no idea what stomach aches are girl-code for.

    Bascially, I’m replaying our drinkies and marveling at the fact that he didn’t punch me in the mouth. Like how I said no less than three times, “Can you believe that no one said I lost weight??? No one.” Could someone please dig me a hole I can cry in?

    KK, don’t let me hang out with people you know anymore.

    To Sis, okay good. People have been upset by it in the past. But yes, sex is good and there’s no moralizing in it. Just sex.

  • 8. Robert  |  June 2, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I need to put “sarcasm” brackets on my stuff sometimes. I know Google, sis! If I didn’t.. there is no way I would have made it through college.

    Melissa – I don’t know what happened to your first comment. ??? Maybe it was y2k. But I think we both know that ALL WE TALKED ABOUT was Kiala.

  • 9. Nate to the Rageous  |  June 3, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Robert Slaythem checked the route
    Grody Cigarette pulled up his boots
    Both jumped up upon their rides
    Their machines purred side by side

    Mikuni Carb signaled them to go
    Torque curve flat and bodies low
    Pavement wet under their wheels
    Corners tight and rubber squeals

    Grody grinned behind a mask
    Slaythem knew not of his task
    Robert’s line was slit and frayed
    Bike went down and he quickly prayed

    Don’t let me go down like this
    I know this came from Grody’s tricks
    If I live to see the day
    I’ll make sure that he’ll have Hell to pay…and roam

    I’ll make sure that Hell’s his home (x8)

  • 10. Robert  |  June 3, 2008 at 10:10 am

    It makes sense that Slaythem would have Grody as an arch enemy.

    I can’t wait to hear it – analog style


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


