Joe Strummer – Ramshackle Day Parade

May 12, 2008 at 2:52 pm 4 comments


Photo Credit

Ramshackle Day Parade is placed right in the middle of Joe Strummer’s final album Streetcore. I think it is one of the most amazing songs he ever wrote. It is a good segue into the second half of the album (the b-side, really) but what an amazing lead-in this would have been to “Burnin’ Streets” which is later in the album.

As usual, almost all the lyric sites have it wrong – those stupid cut and paste websites that find one wrong transcript of the song and then perpetuate it all over. Well, I’ve done my best to write down the lyrics to this song here – if you think I’ve made any mistakes please let me know.

I’m working on my ultimate Joe Strummer week series of posts in anticipation of “Joe Strummer: The Future is Unwritten” being released on DVD. I’ll be going over all of Joe Strummer’s solo releases, as well as all of the previous Joe Strummer / The Clash documentaries that are already released.

As usual, I can’t find this song anywhere online. So just ask me and I’ll email it to you. Lyrics after the jump.

Muffle the drums
Behold the new century comes
Was it all the amphetamine presidents and their busy wives
Or did Manhattan crumble the day Marilyn died

All your life – dream a dream
Somehow connected with the silver screen
With half-closed eyes you realize
Love in the life – that is paradise

In a Technicolor fade
I dream a parade
Like some bop house- flophouse serenade
Every dog must have his day

Ramshackle day parade
We’re going on through
Ramshackle day parade

This is the ramshackle day parade
Of all those lost, unborn and unnamed
And whose heads got filled with the neon lava
And remained buried underneath this road

Ramshackle day parade
Taking the freight elevator from the incinerator
Come the hopped up G-men riding refrigerated alligators

Faces of the civil wars
In holograms holding 44’s
After the deranged cowboys
Bring out the banners of Stalingrad

Bring out the banners of Stalingrad
Here come the marching band
The band of the underhand

This is the ramshackle day parade
Ramshackle Day Parade

Hopefully these corrected lyrics will circulate. I really miss Joe Strummer.

Entry filed under: (Correct) Lyrics, Joe Strummer, Music.

Journey’s End! Buñuel: Difficult and Rewarding?

4 Comments

  • 1. Jen  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I got this album off Emusic. I was trying to pick a favorite track, but I can’t.

  • 2. Robert  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Impossible, right? Coma Girl is such a great opener…

  • 3. Jean Dominique  |  July 9, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Like some bop house – flophouse serenade

    WTF is a flob house supposed to be?

  • 4. Robert  |  July 9, 2008 at 9:36 am

    A flophouse is a cheap hotel.. like a hostel. A couple bucks a night and you get a bed.

    A flob house? NO IDEA! (corrected… thanks for the catch!)


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

