Harley Davidsons…

May 8, 2008 at 10:09 am 6 comments

Are for Lawyers and Doctors. And old people. They are overpriced, gaudy, and glorified recliners. I see so many HD stickers on SUV’s and BMW’s. If the temperature hits 80, people will ride their HD’s to work. Fair weather riders that wouldn’t know where to begin if their giant loud overblown motorcycles started to have a problem.

Here is a great critique of the new HD ad campaign from Hell for Leather. (Read the comments on the story, too. The Vespa comment is great).

I’m a firm believer that motorcycles should be a little uncomfortable. It shouldn’t be a giant wad of chrome with accouterments that rival Lexus’. If you buy a motorcycle then spend thousands of dollars to make it all squishy and comfy with big foot rests and a sissy bar and a loud stereo and a big windshield then I don’t understand why you choose to ride a motorcycle. You’ll sit in traffic like everyone else because your bike is as wide as a car. And you look ridiculous.

And the whole “outlaw image” of HD’s are ridiculous because the bikes cost so much. Early HD bikes were adopted because along with Indians, they were American made and cheap to buy and maintain. Now some of the bikes reach 20,000 dollars out the door.

I hate Harleys.

And One Percenters, please don’t kill me. I’m not talking about you. Don’t shiv me the next time I’m on Sunset.

Look at this dumb clown:

The sound of that ridiculous bike crashing is music to my ears.

I’m a little salty today, dear reader. Sorry.

And I’ve talked about stupid modern Vespa’s as well right here.

Entry filed under: garbage sacks.

one more thing get out of town

6 Comments

  • 1. Pretty Lush  |  May 8, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    They are a little… excessive.

  • 2. Jen  |  May 8, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Okay–accepting that I know virtually nothing about motorcycles or scooters, those guys in Peewee’s Big Adventure were pretty cool. I don’t know if they rode Harleys though.

  • 3. Robert  |  May 8, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Jen… you mean THIS?

    Yeah, those are Harleys. And yeah, some older Harleys are cool. And yeah, I would never say any of the stuff I said to a real Harley gang.. I’m mostly talking about the guys I see riding around the southbay once the sun comes out. GRrrrRrr

  • 4. Dave  |  May 8, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Yeah, I saw some Harley Davidson brand beef jerkey the other day. It was called “Harley Davidson Road Food”. Cause when you’re on the road you don’t have time to be stopping at no mamby pamby diners and such. You’ve got to eat manly shit like dehydrated meat in a plastic pouch. My friend Tommy bought some, and we agreed that it tasted like it had been run over by a Harley Davidson. Road Food? Are you shitting me? The funny thing is that, as far as I can tell, road food for most modern day Harley riders seems to be Starbucks. But, hey, nothing cements your questionable reputation as respectable American motorcycle company like pimping yourself out to every possible product placement known to man. Ridiculous.

  • 5. Dave  |  May 8, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Damn you wordpress!

  • 6. Kiala  |  May 9, 2008 at 7:04 am

    I don’t like Harley Davidson’s or the leatherfaced blonde women who ride them.

    And by “women” I mean the men, too.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


