green bean

April 28, 2008 at 9:24 am 8 comments

Weeks can be boring and routine – why not mix it up? Like challenging yourself to do silly things? With food?

Last night I was thinking “what if my bank account was wiped out and I didn’t have any access to any of the money all those ones and zeros say I have?” My immediate thought was that I would be very hungry. Then I looked in my kitchen and realized I had almost no food. Sometimes I get free food at work, could I manage a week on a few dollars and scrounging food?

Let’s try it! I will not use any electronic form of payment for the entire week (for food – gas doesn’t apply of course), until Saturday. I can eat all the free food I want, and I can buy any food I want, as long as I use the cash on me. I can also eat anything I want in my kitchen, which I inventoried this morning:

1 can of tuna
1 can of green beans
About 2 cups of rice
Half a bag of noodles
Half empty bottles of vodka, tequila, whiskey, and gin

I also have 3 dollars, a jar full of change, and a workplace where free food frequently shows up. I’ll report each day here of course.

I wonder if I can make it. I have confidence in myself. It will be a like a post apocalyptic experiement, like what would happen if 006 would have succeeded in firing the Goldeneye satellite and fried all of our electronic information! Well, all of Britain’s electronic information.

Entry filed under: Aww crap!, General Blabbing, Posterity.

I found a Misfits funny Wonders: All Men Are Freezing

8 Comments

  • 1. Sis  |  April 28, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Sounds like my house, except I have more booze and an extra can of tuna. Want me to send it? (the tuna that is)….

  • 2. Robert  |  April 28, 2008 at 9:40 am

    No… the booze! Send the booze!!!

  • 3. Kiala  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Oh my. I’m pretty sure I could live for a month on what we have in the pantry and the freezer. That makes me feel wasteful.

    Its just that I need vegetables all the time.

    I need them.

  • 4. Robert  |  April 28, 2008 at 11:11 am

    She’s addicted to vegetables. Vegaddict.

  • 5. melissalion  |  April 28, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Grocery stores are your friend in this situation. They have tons of samples. I’d hit up Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s and Costco. You can totally do it. You could do it for a year, I’m sure.

  • 6. Robert  |  April 28, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    I’ll be going to Trader Joe’s tonight to get items with my meager cash. Then I will figure out exactly what I can make with the various sauces and starches I have.

    I skipped lunch because there wasn’t any free food. I’m really hungry.

  • 7. Charley  |  April 28, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I bet there’s more money in that coin jar than you think. You can do it!

  • 8. alex  |  April 29, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Do what I did! I just lease out my brain!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


