boo buddy Vespa

April 28, 2008 at 10:06 pm 4 comments

Well, I went the entire day without spending any money on food. I ate a bagel at breakfast at work, then skipped lunch but ate some unsalted peanuts as a snack, and ate a rice dish at home for dinner. I didn’t go shopping yet because I did something more fun.

I made my order out for my Vespa. Warning, extreme Vespa-nerd talk ahead.

I won’t be rebuilding my crank… I’ll probably just buy a Mazzucchelli cut crank for added power. I’ll pair that with a new Polini piston and replace all the seals and gaskets, rebuild the clutch and the engine should be good. Then I’ll replace my Del Orto 19/19 with a Mikuni 24mm carb and a Polini reed valve intake, then for the exhaust I’ll throw on a Polini noisemaker pipe. Add a new back tire and some new teflon cables for the hell of it, and kick it over in a couple weeks. (This means I’ll miss the Mods Mayday, which means I am 0 for 4 this season for rallies. Summer will be awesome, though).

What does all this mean? Well, for just over 600 dollars, my Vespa Primavera will be faster than yours. Solly, kiddo!

We’ll see how the food thing goes tomorrow. I counted out my change in my jar, and I have 4 dollars in there! That means I have 7 dollars to shop for four more days… no problemo. 

Entry filed under: Dork Alert!, General Blabbing, Vespa.

Wonders: All Men Are Freezing daredevil!

4 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  April 29, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I tried to talk Dane into doing this food thing and I think it was the first time the idea of divorce did not upset him.

    At all.

  • 2. melissalion  |  April 29, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Sah-weet. The suping up the primavera is awesome because it’s light, the lightes vespa, which means it’ll be way faster than those pesky lambrettas. Even if it is tilting to one side.

    Nerdy talk, right back atcha.

  • 3. melissalion  |  April 29, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    The lightest. Yeah. I was so excited for scooter talk.

  • 4. Robert  |  April 29, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Ahhhh.. but the thing with smallframes is that the engine is centrally mounted, unlike largeframe vespas. So they have a better center of gravity and they aren’t lopsided!

    Go smallframes!!!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

