news (big? you tell me)

April 1, 2008 at 8:25 am 8 comments

So I have some news- I don’t know if you’d call it big or anything, but it is exciting news for me at least.

To start off, I’ve always had sorta big ears. They stick out a bit, and as a kid I had short hair which compounded the problem.

The last few years I’ve had longer hair, and these last few months it has grown quite long. A few weeks ago I had my sides trimmed, and lo and behold, there are my ears again. Poking out.

I’ve been pretty insecure about this, and I decided that I’m an adult and should take care of this, especially while I’m still living in Los Angeles. Basically, I’ve decided to get otoplasty.

Otoplasty is a pretty simple procedure – I’m getting my ears “pinned back.” This will stop them from sticking out so far, and give the appearance that they are smaller. This will give me the freedom to have shorter hair when I want without feeling self-conscious. It is very simple, and there are a ton of cosmetic surgeons here in the Los Angeles area who can do this pretty quickly. I’ve had 3 consultations, and they are trying to convince me to fix a small bump on my nose. I’m thinking about that one.. it wouldn’t be that much more work.

Yes, it isn’t cheap. But the good news is when they reshape the cartilage, I will only have to go in one time after that for a check in.

This is a big step for me, and I can’t wait to be able to step out into the world without the eyes of the public looking at my big ears. Let me know what you think in the comments, or give me a call, but please be kind.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

hello internet in which I critique shit

8 Comments

  • 1. isabelle  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Your ears are fine. You know what they say, once you start with plastic surgery, you can’t ever stop. This may start out simple enough with a little ear tuck, but soon you’ll start looking like that panther lady.

  • 2. Robert  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Thanks Isabelle – but I hope everyone understands that this is for me, and my perception of my ears. I remember being called “Dumbo” on the bus in elementary school and it still sort of stings.

    Kids are really, really cruel.

  • 3. isabelle  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:29 am

    I think it was I who called you Dumbo.

  • 4. Charley  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Maybe we can get a two-for-one thing? (Not fooled)

  • 5. Robert  |  April 1, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Well, I’m not trying to fool you Charley.

    And I can check with Dr. Inglethorne to see if I can get you in on a referral bonus or something, if you are genuinely interested.

  • 6. Isabelle  |  April 1, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I’ll pay for Charley’s procedure. No need to inquire about a 2-for1.

  • 7. Robert  |  April 1, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    [10:05] eltonjohnpre1975: so i sort of have big news
    [10:05] pepewk: Hey
    [10:05] pepewk: whats that
    [10:05] eltonjohnpre1975: did you read my blog
    [10:05] pepewk: the last one I read is about the motorcycle race
    [10:05] eltonjohnpre1975: oh. i posted one this morning
    [10:05] eltonjohnpre1975: i’m getting otoplasty
    [10:06] pepewk: ARe you serious?
    [10:07] pepewk: ive never even noticed your ears sticking out
    [10:07] eltonjohnpre1975: its been a thing since i was a little kid
    [10:07] eltonjohnpre1975: but i’ve been hiding it behind my hair
    [10:08] pepewk: how much does it cost?
    [10:08] eltonjohnpre1975: thats sort of a rude thing to ask!
    [10:08] pepewk: it is?
    [10:08] eltonjohnpre1975: it’s 3500 for the initial pinback, then sibsequent check-ins differ in cost depending on procedure
    [10:09] pepewk: i thought itd be more
    [10:09] pepewk: how long have you been thinking of this?
    [10:09] eltonjohnpre1975: well, it is
    [10:10] eltonjohnpre1975: but i’m not really into talking about how much it costs
    [10:10] eltonjohnpre1975: for about a year now
    [10:10] pepewk: Do you want to be able to have short hair and not have your ears stick out?
    [10:10] eltonjohnpre1975: i’ve had a few consultations and the “surgery” is next month. i dont even have to be knocked out for it
    [10:11] pepewk: whoa
    [10:11] pepewk: how do they do it exactly
    [10:12] eltonjohnpre1975: reshape the cartilage
    [10:12] pepewk: Well, I think your ears look fine..
    [10:13] pepewk: but then ive never seen them really, i guess theve been covered
    [10:13] pepewk: but I think long hair suits you
    [10:14] eltonjohnpre1975: well i want to be able to shave my head and not have my ears stick out. they will only be pinned back about 1/2 an inch
    [10:15] pepewk: its hard to imagine, but I guess /2 would make a big difference
    [10:15] eltonjohnpre1975: its one of the reasons i paid off my credit cards, and got another one, because i’m charging this whole thing
    [10:16] pepewk: i see
    [10:16] eltonjohnpre1975: and selling all my stuff, too. like cds and stuff
    [10:16] pepewk: Wait
    [10:16] pepewk: hahaah
    [10:16] pepewk: APRIL FOOLS!
    [10:17] pepewk: you totally got me

  • 8. Kiala  |  April 2, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I’m getting a boob job.

    I’m not kidding.

    I’m kidding.

    not kidding.

    kidding.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


