flat tire

March 24, 2008 at 10:03 am 10 comments

I got a flat tire on my way to work today. I pulled a giant bent nail from my rear tire of my Vespa – I was only a few blocks from work. Luckily I have a spare and I’ll attack it at lunch.

I help my friend Lindsey set up her thesis art show on Sunday – it was fun, and the gallery smelled like paint and it reminded me of high school.

I’ve decided to – gasp! – stop drinking for a while. I’m not having fun with it lately and it just sort of drags me down and makes things happen that I regret later.

I tried to take two bags of CDs and DVDs to sell yesterday, but it was Easter and they were closed.

I hit a brick wall with my motorcycle rebuild (figuratively) but hopefully it will be all done this week.

I have been working furiously on getting rid of a lot of my things – obviously I started with DVDs and CDs. I used to be married to the concept of owning every single CD I’ve ever bought and having this massive collection – but the thought of moving all those CDs again is tiresome. So I am keeping my essential stuff and mp3ing stuff that I listen to occasionally. I won’t be doing the “all digital” thing like a lot of people do, because I still contend that mp3’s sound comparatively bad to CDs. But for stuff I only listen to occasionally it is fine. And the space I’ll be saving will be nice.

As for my DVD’s, I’m keeping most of my music-based stuff and my criterion DVDs, but scrapping the rest. If I had the computer space, I would love to get rid of every DVD I have and just have a digital copy on a hard drive somewhere. I’m not that into special features, and I can use Netflix to rent new movies. I’m pretty over the idea of a giant shelf of media – simplicity has its virtues and optical media is on its way out for most things anyway.

That’s all for now! I just had some “Earl Grey” tea and it always makes me think of Captain Picard from Star Trek when he goes up to this little computer and says “Earl Grey tea, hot” and it zaps it and he drinks it while listening to a symphony. Then Data is like “what is laughter?” and No. 1 strokes his beard.

Update: I changed my tire at lunch, it was pretty easy. I’ve never changed a tire on my scooter yet, and the rear was surprisingly easy. The tire is pretty worn anyway, so I’m just going to order a new rear tire. I’m hungry.

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv.

Let’s not kid ourselves! Airplane ticket winner

10 Comments

  • 1. Jen  |  March 24, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Your Vespa is paying you back for not paying it enough attention.

  • 2. Kiala  |  March 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    And number one sucks in his gut! That’s my favorite part.

  • 3. Kiala  |  March 24, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I am also thinking about not drinking for awhile. My tolerance has gotten super low anyway and I almost weigh what it says on my drivers license and that is my ultimate goal in the world.

    That’s sad. I feel sad now.

  • 4. Robert  |  March 24, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Jen: I think you are right. I just got in from cuddling with my Vespa, cleaning up the old rim and tire, and tightening the exhaust. Tomorrow I’ll order it some parts, and we’ll be back in love land again.

    Kiala: Set course for the Not Sad Galaxy, warp 7. ENGAGE!

  • 5. Nate to the Rageous  |  March 24, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Stop whatever you are doing and start getting your mind blown. This piece was made for Robert’s brain. http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x4lyv6_stephen-malkmus-and-the-jicks_music

  • 6. M to the Mother "F"ing 16  |  March 25, 2008 at 12:32 am

    That’s cool about the drinking thing. It’s good to moderate. I just drank some Red Stripe. I pretend I’m Jamaican. But, when you come to Portland, we have to have beer together. You can resume a little bit of your drinking privileges, right? I don’t mean to be a bad influence or anything, but you know what I mean. You rock!

    M-16

  • 7. Kiala  |  March 25, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Oh my GOD, Nate.

    You just blew my mind. But you already knew that, didn’t you?

  • 8. Robert  |  March 25, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    M-m-m-m-m-made for my brain?

    I’ll be watching this when I get home, after I put down a plastic sheet so my brains don’t mess the carpet.

  • 9. Robert  |  March 25, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    oh yeah – M-16 you know I’ll have 3-8 beers with you when I get up there. We can probably high-five after each one if you want. Think about it, get back to me.

  • 10. M-16  |  March 25, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    YES!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


