Guided by Voices: Drag Days

March 13, 2008 at 1:49 pm 4 comments

“Drag Days” is my favorite song from Under the Bushes, Under the Stars (an awesome albums, and a great acronym: UTBUTS!).

Well, it has been weird my dear reader. I’ve been thinking about this song a lot lately – and it has been playing a TON while my songs are on shuffle on the way to work. At least once a day. Out of all the Guided by Voices tracks I have on my iPod (high hundreds), “Drag Days” keeps coming on.

So it is time to write about it.

Drag days are not too bad but move too slow
I file them, I want them not to linger so
now we come to drag days
now we come to drag days

From the title, I always think about racing. But of course it isn’t about racing, it is about those days that are like giant weights around your feet.. slowing you down. These days are tiring – I’ve had a few.

Fake capes baby, they’re too hard to wear
put them on and everyone will stare
we have come to drag days
we have come to drag days

we escape them sometimes
when things are different, more intensified
we escape them within the walls
of our fidgety hearts where we hide

The second verse is a possible distraction from the boredom. Fake capes! But baby, they are too hard to wear. So we get introspection in the bridge – “we escape them sometimes when things are different, more intensified.” This is how I escape my drag days, escape monotony and escape whatever it is that is slowing me down – internally or externally. I think these days exist because there is nothing extraordinary to help us escape them.

way on out beyond the factory yards
up and over the security guards
we have come to drag days
we have come to drag days

Stark imagery – factory yards and security guards. The imagery reminds me of REM’s “Finest Worksong,” but I’m not sure why. Perhaps it is the music video.

What I really love about this song (and most GbV songs) is the optimism in the song. Sure, it could be construed as a depressing songs, but to me it is simply acknowlegding those days, and also acknowledging that they won’t be around for long. It’s the bridge again, then the final lines of the song, repeated:

they will turn around!
they will turn around!

Yes they will.

Lyrics, as always, from GBVDB.

I can’t find “Drag Days” online for you to listen to, but just go buy Under the Bushes, Under the Stars. You won’t regret it.

Entry filed under: Guided By Voices, High Kicks, Music, Posterity, Uncle Bob, Wonders.

everyday should be a holiday what gives me goosebumps in the morning

4 Comments

  • 1. Isabelle  |  March 14, 2008 at 10:24 am

    This is just a post about Guided by Voices!

  • 2. Robert  |  March 14, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Read between the lines, and you’ll see it is a wonderful thought about my new book: Burfleberry Finn.

  • 3. Kiala  |  March 15, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I loove Burf Finn and his old black friend named Jim John.

  • […] previously wrote about Drag Days here. I thought it was an appropriate song about escape and change. Plus – did you really think I could […]


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


