Long Songs

February 28, 2008 at 11:56 am 2 comments

I love this song – it’s so true!

On my commute to work today, “We Won’t Get Fooled Again” came on whilst my iPod was a-shufflin’! The song lasted 1/3 of my commute!

Depending on traffic, it usually takes about 25 minutes for me to get to the office from my house. (Also depending on the amount of time I longingly look out to the ocean, and think about how the sea turtle doesn’t need to sit in front of a computer to live, and how dolphins are so free etc. etc.)

I could only think of two songs that would last my entire commute, and both would eventually drive me batty. “Batty.”

Sonic Youth “The Diamond Sea” – The short version is very nice, but the long version can be great it you are doing something other than driving a motorcycle. Otherwise the constant clash of noise and feedback could make you accidentally pop a wheelie!

The Velvet Underground “Sister Ray” – Could you, dear reader, endure a half hour of Lou Reed saying “she’s sucking on my ding-dong”? COULD YOU?

I leave it to you, my dear reader, to name some more 20+ minute songs.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Music.

pass the sugary tea oh no

2 Comments

  • 1. squishypie  |  February 29, 2008 at 12:12 am

    What about that Jesus and Mary Chain song you hate that was playing when we came out of the desert.

  • 2. Robert  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:49 am

    What Jesus and Mary Chain song I hate? There is only one song on their greatest hits that I hate, and it’s 5-6 minutes long at best.

    Maybe you are thinking of Wilco? Then I can bring on the hate.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


