burrito week!

February 27, 2008 at 10:37 am 5 comments

From last Saturday until today, I’ve had a burrito every single day. Let’s break it down, shall we?

Burrito Saturday: Some Jesus burrito place over by Jim’s apartment. I don’t know the name exactly, but I’m pretty sure it had something to do with Jesus. Mainly because the place said “Jesus” on every surface. The burrito was (hangover) delicious, so I’ll score it a 7 out of 10.

Burrito Sunday: Miss Garcia’s in Culver City. I had eaten there before, and this time wasn’t too bad, but it wasn’t really twisting my noodle. The chips were bland, and there was loud Oscar news blaring on the television behind me. But it was too windy to eat outside. I’ll give this burrito a 5 out of 10.

Burrito Monday: I went to an old Oregon favorite: Taco Time! I had my standard, the Veggie Burrito. This was pretty delicious, and the Taco Time mild sauce really adds a lot. I’ll give this burrito a 6 out of 10.

Burrito Tuesday: Running out of places to get a burrito, I went to Chipotle. I hate Chipotle. I got a chicken burrito, and it was humongous, but the proportions were all wrong. And I pony up a buck fifty for guacamole, and they put this little dab of it on there. I give Chipotle’s burrito a 2 out of 10!

Burrito Wednesday: ??!?!??! Where am I going to go? I will try making my own burrito at Whole Foods today, then it can only be my fault if it is less than anything but a 35 out of 10.

Update: I indeed made a burrito of my own choosing at Whole Foods. It was delicious. I totally overloaded it with Guacamole and I used black eyed peas instead of black or pinto beans, and brown rice. Look, I’m going to give this burrito a 9 out of 10 – only because it cost 8 bucks and it made me way too full (a correlation?)

I like burritos lately.

I miss “Burrito Amigos” in Eugene, or as me and my “south of the border” roommate Gaby used to call it, “Little Donkey Friends.” Eugene had so many damn burrito places.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

year of scruff pass the sugary tea

5 Comments

  • 1. melissa lion  |  February 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    May I share a tale with you? A few days ago, I realized there was a Christian reading my blog and I thought, you know maybe I should lay off the decapitating talk a little bit. To tame things down, I wrote about using human blood to write things on my computer screen.

    The moral of this story: you have a former Southern Californian who now lives in Portland reading your blog. And the embarrassment of your Mexican food riches is starting to make her feel a little reloading your blog fifty times while licking her computer screen because maybe, just maybe, she can get a little taste of actual Mexican food. Except Chipotle. She doesn’t want that.

    So either take a picture of the burritos so I can use it as a screen saver, or mail me a burrito because I need a fix.

  • 2. Jenny  |  February 27, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I too, have been eating a lot of burritos. Well, actually quesadillas. I know you hate talking about those, but they are sooo delicious I have to share! It’s almost a burrito. Just folded differently, same stuff in the middle. I make my own, here. I love them. I love making quesadillas! And these tostada things that Jim and I used to call, “Creations.” Creations are delicious. You take a tortilla, and fry one side a bit till its lightly brown, flip it over and do the other side, but while that side is getting brown, you melt cheese and beans on the top. You don’t melt the beans of course, but you cook them so they are warm before hand in a pot, then put them on there. Then slide it onto a plate and its ready to eat! If you do it right, you can hold it so where its not flopping over, just slightly crispy! I love talking about food. FOOOOOD! I love it. I love making it, and I love eating it! YummmM! I’ve been eating these all week! In fact, I’m going to make me some right now! Not a quesadilla, but a burrito.

    It’s going to be pretty difficult.

  • 3. Jenny  |  February 27, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Oh! I forgot, there is also green sauce on them. On all of them, the burritos, the quesadillas and the creations.

    Delicioso! Mama Mia! Dios Mio!

  • 4. Kiala  |  February 27, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    You live in St Johns Melissa.

    You need to get yourself over to King Burrito. It’s on Lombard.

    Also! I love this post, because I love burritos but now that I’m a healthy person who eats lunch every day I cannot eat a whole burrito anymore. It’s just too much.

    I mean…I could eat a whole one but I might die afterwards in an exploding way.

  • 5. Robert  |  February 27, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    How about this observation:

    Mexican food is the only food that that tastes better the less you pay for it.

    HMMMMMM?

    Anyway.. I’m really regretting not taking a picture of every burrito I’ve eaten this week. Tomorrow: burrito picture. Where will I eat one? Some mysterious southbay area of course.

    I want a burrito right now.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


