Women for Barack Obama

February 5, 2008 at 10:30 am 3 comments

I followed a VW New Beetle into work today. They were going quite slow, and I noticed the driver had a “Women For Barack Obama” sticker on her back window.

I thought about how professional the sticker looked, and how much it must have cost to get such a fine vinyl sticker put on the window. I was impressed that the driver was so into Barack Obama that she put something semi-permanent on her window.

It inspired me. I thought about flagging her down and becoming one of the first men to join the “Women For Barack Obama” club. I imagine my motorcycle with a sticker on it, and the same sense of admiration I was experiencing now coming from passersby. My fence sitting days were over, because of this magnificent sticker. I now had my candidate.

Then the sun shifted going around a turn, and I noticed it was just a piece of paper taped to the back of the window.

This depressed me. All my feelings for this sticker and this women drained out of me. I began to think of the poor sticker manufacturers that lose business to lazy half-hearted political supporters who use their work’s laser printer for their political voice. I pictured once proud sticker manufacturers resorting to printing those “Calvin peeing on a Ford symbol” just to make ends meet. I could see the shame in their eyes as their kids find the latest batch of WWJD stickers.

“Daddy, why aren’t you printing stickers that matter?”

“People just don’t have the conviction anymore, Joseph.”

As all of this flashed through my head, I passed the red VW Beetle. Too disgusted to look over.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

new music is just SO HARD yes! no!

3 Comments

  • 1. Jenny  |  February 5, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I enjoyed reading that.

  • 2. Dave  |  February 5, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    The driver was probably listening to Coldplay

  • 3. Kiala  |  February 6, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Oh, Good call Dave!

    Also, John Mayer.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

