new music is just SO HARD

February 4, 2008 at 4:46 pm 6 comments

I love music, and I have a lot of it, but sometimes I just get stuck. I find it really hard to get into new bands, especially when a certain songwriter puts out awesome new stuff every 12 seconds.

However.. I have been branching out! Here are some albums I’ve picked up or will be picking up soon.

The Movies – I’ve seen them twice in as many weeks, they are amazing and pretty much my new favorite band. I picked up their 2002 album at their last concert, hopefully they will have their other album the next time I see them because they are currently on a Spanish record label.

Radar Bros. – I’ve listened to them a little bit and liked what I heard. They have a new album out, so I’m going to pick it up and see what I think. They have been playing around L.A. lately and if I really like them, I’ll probably be mad that I missed their shows.

Beachwood Sparks – Oh, did I mention that all the bands I’m trying to get into are local bands? That’s because I want to have more shows to get to! Beachwood Sparks has a lot of albums out, so I’m going to try ad pick some up used – but I like what I’ve listened to online so far.

This coupled with more used record shopping should get me out of the new music slump.

Anything else I should be picking up or checking out?

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Music.

poles will reverse! Women for Barack Obama

6 Comments

  • 1. Jenny  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I love me some Beachwood Sparks.

  • 2. Robert  |  February 5, 2008 at 11:14 am

    then gimme

  • 3. Kiala  |  February 5, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Yes, yes…eskimo and sons

    especially listen to oh it’s even more crash.

    here:
    http://www.myspace.com/eskimoandsons

  • 4. Robert  |  February 5, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Listened to some of their songs. It is very pleasant.

    So I ordered their EP.

    THANKS KIALA!

  • 5. Kiala  |  February 5, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    You’re welcome! They’re even more awesome live….also, they’re nice kids. We’ve hung out. They’re like 11 years old.

    Anyway, I hope you like the EP.

    Also! One more…

    Nyles Lannon..

    http://www.myspace.com/nlannon

  • 6. guittard  |  May 15, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    If yer into the Beachwood Sparks then you can also pick up the Tyde, the Quarter After, and last but not least the Brian Jonestown Massacre. And by the way, you may be able to see the BWS live soon. They are getting back together. Hope you don’t mind me bursting in.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


