poles will reverse!

February 4, 2008 at 1:41 pm 3 comments

I’m in love with my motorcycle. Not wrong! Not bad! And the government hasn’t legislated against it yet.

If you are easily bored by my motorcycle posts, then I suggest you skip this.

So I did a little ordering for my motorcycle. I did a lot of ordering. I’m buying a lot of stuff for my bike, and for me. Next weekend I won’t be going to the big Vegas scooter rally, which bums me out but circumstances sometimes get in the way. So I will spend the weekend tearing my Honda apart and replacing the piston rings, etc. It is daunting, but it should be fun. I’m going to start Friday night and hopefully be done by Sunday night (ha!).

Last week I came closer to getting hit head on by a car than I ever wanted to. It was like playing chicken with a Ford Focus. Someone coming the opposite direction turned right in front of me. It really shook me up. So for my birthday, I’m buying myself a new helmet as well as rebuilding the drum brakes on my Honda. Also, I’m ditching the jean jacket and going for leather because I’m pretty sure the denim wouldn’t have held up to me landing on my back at 50 m.p.h. I also am buying myself some new great tools. Happy birthday to me!

So the plan is to have my bike in tip-top after next week. A new set of rings takes a while to reseat, so the break in period will be a good time to take it easy and work out the kinks. Then, in about a month, I’m planning on taking my motorcycle on a weekend trip up to San Francisco. I’m also working on a way to make some custom canvas saddlebags. Because I have scrambler pipes, one of the saddlebags would have to rest on the exhaust and could catch on fire. But I’ll need the storage to store spares parts/tools/etc. A backpack will provide clothes storage.

I’m a little weary on how well my 350 will do on a long distance ride. Not because of the highway speeds (I took my bike out on the highway for the first time 2 weeks ago, and It felt fine at 80) but because of the small gastank, which only holds a little over a gallon and a half. This won’t be a problem going up the 101, it will just be annoying to stop every 60 miles. It would become a problem on longer trips where gas stations are further apart.

I’ll be posting pictures of my motorcycle rebuild adventure soon, if you are interested. There is part of me that is thinking that a CB750 would be a much better long distance bike.

But I’m in love with my bike so much, I would just hurt its feelings saying this out loud.

Photo Credit

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, Los Angeles, Posterity, Road Trips, Travel.

winter new music is just SO HARD

3 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  February 4, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Oh. I accidentally sent a link to this post to your bike.

    SORRY.

  • 2. Robert  |  February 4, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I totally shut off my motorcycle’s wireless for JUST THAT REASON!

    Crisis averted.

  • 3. Kiala  |  February 5, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Meddling kid.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


