you will not be able to keep up

January 5, 2008 at 1:24 am

I am going to make up for my lack of 2007 posts tonight.

I am listening to all REM tonight. They were my #1 band of all time. Maybe they still are. I remember when I first decided to buy more of their albums. I was listening to “KTMT” in Grants Pass while I was cleaning out our horse Kima’s stall. It smelled so bad. I had a little gray radio playing in the window – a radio I got from my sister at least 8 year earlier. The radio is the same radio I used when I worked at the landfill that summer, on mountains of garbage in the Oregon summer heat, listening to the radio and discovering manual labor.

Anyway, I heard “Strange Currencies” on the radio and finished mucking the stall. I washed my hands, drove 15 miles into town and bought Monster at Fred Meyer. It is one of my favorite albums of all time. I’m listening to it right now.

I had an after-party for some band in Eugene once, and they sort of sucked. There were a bunch of people in that little one bedroom apartment. One of the band members called me out for having a Monster album cover on my wall. He asked “is it a concept album?” and I said “sure.” Then he said “is the concept ‘rock’?” He stumped me. I told him I supposed so, then he said he admired me for liking the album so much. I went and displayed my CD version, my LP version, and my tape version.

I hate the cool police.

My skin is cold and clammy. The rain stopped.

Entry filed under: drinking.

Electron Blue Try Not To Breathe


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

