looking forward

January 3, 2008 at 12:08 am 4 comments

I purposely didn’t want to write a 2007-year-in-review / 2008-year-looking-forward thing. But things happen and you just feel like writing.

2007 was a mixed bag. I got over a lot of things, and got myself into a lot of things. Looking back at them all makes me feel bad about some, feel good about others. I’ve lost a few friends and made a few more. I’ve scrambled my priorities and lost site of what I’m doing here. Most importantly, I’m writing about it right now.

This last bit of the year in particular have been pretty amazing for all sorts of different reasons.

I guess it is time to get this house in order. I currently do a job that pays me money to do things I have no interest in ever doing. And with that money I pay off my debts that accrued from moving down here, from going to school, from going to Mexico, etc. I’ll be at zero in February. That is a good feeling. But it is also a nauseating feeling. Because I don’t want the flatscreen television, and the sedan with low monthly payments, the matching dishware, the Ikea bathmat. I don’t want to sit in an office all day, and be concerned about numbers and metrics.

I don’t care about how much money I am making someone else.

I like motorcycles, and I like traveling, and I like music, and I like the idea of showing people things they’ve never seen. I like original thought and I like friends.

I’m setting wheels in motion, tonight.

Happy 2008 everyone.

Entry filed under: Missing, Road Trips, Sustainability.

Wagner on Radio Lab 7 hours

4 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  January 3, 2008 at 11:05 am

    I agree with everything you just said…except about the Ikea bathmat.

    I love Ikea like one of my own cats.

    Luckily the 30 dollars I make each week at the Mercury easily pays for at least 65 Sven bathmats.

  • 2. Robert  |  January 3, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Ok, well.. I guess I need a new Ikea bathmat. Because my other one was damaged in the great fire of New Years Eve 2007.

    And speaking of cats, I need one of those too.

  • 3. charley  |  January 3, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I’m totally with you on the making money for someone else thing. That’s why I’m struggling to decide what to do next. Guess I’ll just become a bum. Wow, I feel better already!

  • 4. Robert  |  January 3, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Grow a beard, like me. First step.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


