Wonders: The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get

December 20, 2007 at 7:46 pm

When you sleep
I will creep into your thoughts
like a bad debt that you can’t pay
take the easy way and give in

I love this song from “Vauxhall and I,” an album that I wasn’t immediately fond of. Now it is my favorite Morrissey solo album (do I need to use “solo” when I say it’s a Morrissey album, or is that reduntant?). A four hour math homework session in Eugene with this album on repeat really made it grow on me, and it sort of defined my summer.

It reminds me of how hot it was, and laying on the lawn, and living in awesome, awesome chaos.

Anyway, “The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Gethas an awesome guitar hook (reminiscent of Strangeways era Smiths) and the typical Moz wit. Why, this could be the most charming song about stalking and infatuation of all time!

The tongue-in-cheek creepiness of the song is great, and I was really disappointed that he didn’t play it at the concert.

However – I have noticed that they do have this at karaoke bars sometimes. It is totally my next song!

Entry filed under: Music, Wonders.

lion heads Joe Strummer: August 21st, 1952 – December 22nd, 2002


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


