Tonight, grease tonight.

November 15, 2007 at 11:10 pm 3 comments

First things first. Focus all your positive thoughts, or prayers, or meditate, or do whatever you do and think about my friend Jenny’s Dad, who has a brain tumor and is in surgery as we speak. It can’t hurt.

Dad’s are amazing. I talked to my Dad this evening for about 45 minutes. He told me stories about how he used to work in Edison and during slow nights he and his buddies would tear apart guy’s dirt bike engines in the control room and fix them up. Then they would fire them up and ride around the power plant, leaving blue smoke and loud noise everywhere. I get a lot of motorcycle advice from my Dad, because he is a genius when it comes to that stuff. If I ever become half the person my Dad is, I’ll have succeeded in life.

So, leading into that. I’ve been working on my bike this past two nights – pretty much nonstop. Hold on, I need to put on some music.

It was time for some “Devils and Dust.”

Photo essay after the jump!

Anyway, I seized up the chain when I threw it two days ago. I tried to pull apart the case, but one of the screws’ heads was stripped apart. My friend Shannon came over with his impact driver and knocked it loose. We pulled the case, and oh what a mess!

It was messy, and the chain was seized up. But the good news is I didn’t break anything. It is really lucky. But it also had a ton of grease/dirt/junk in there, and I will be doing some heavy duty cleaning in that tomorrow. I already dropped 120 on a new o-ring chain, so I will most likely be gaining some RPM’s and some serious first gear movement when I get it installed.

I thought the old chain was bent, but after pulling it out I realized I may be able to salvage it. I’ll soak it in gasoline for a few days and re-grease it and it may be ok for a backup chain. Which (knock on wood) will never be needed.

As I was working on my bike, I realized why I like vintage bikes so much. First off, it doesn’t take a scientist to work on them (obviously). Second, they made these fuckers rock solid 30 years ago. FOR INSTANCE:

I bought a new pair of passenger pegs for my bike, because my bike was missing one (on the exhaust side, so it’s extra important). I received them, and they are pretty much pieces of junk. I know you can’t feel the weight over the internet, dear readers, but behold these pictures:

This thing is heavy duty. My arm is buckling under the weight. It was made over 35 years ago and has a little bit of rust, but is still a quality part. The rubber still moves with the hinge, it is thick metal and nothing is breaking on this thing (important on a peg that supports your passenger’s weight, right?).

Now look at this piece of shit:

Look what came in the cracker jack box! A passenger peg for a ’72 Honda!

This will never touch my bike. It is at least 1/5 of the weight of the original peg, and the rubber/metal thickness is a fucking joke. It also is so loose in the axle (which isn’t adjustable) that this thing would make as much noise as a baby rattle at idle. Look at the right side of the hinge. Jesus, 2007 makes garbage.

The solution is I’m going to rebuild the peg I have and pick up another peg for the exhaust side, whether NOS or a junker. I’d rather rebuild something that is quality than put a piece of shit metal peg on my vintage bike.

If you’ve read this far, you are a true friend! I know this blog post is 91% about shitty Honda pegs and stretched drive chains, but I admire your tenacity. Remember, kids, my garage is always open for visitors.

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv.

Now Showing! Where’s the paper bag that holds the liquor?

3 Comments

  • 1. Jenny  |  November 16, 2007 at 7:18 am

    thanks for the support! :)

  • 2. whitney  |  November 16, 2007 at 9:05 am

    good luck jenny!!

    mmm, grease and dirt and chains and goo. i’ve been working on overhauling two bike(cycles) in my garage (back porch) the last few days too! even though myne don’t vroom vroom as loud as yrs, it’s exciting to be working on similar projects :) hope you make good progress on yrs. i can’t wait to be riding (motor)bikes with you in a matter of weeks!!!!

  • 3. Jen & Michael  |  November 16, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Best wishes Jenny–we hope everything turns out well. Keep us posted!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


