Record shopping weekend: Day 1

November 3, 2007 at 11:13 pm 5 comments

Day two will be at Amoeba, House of Records, and any small place that could be full of treasures.

1. Exene Cervenka – Running Sacred

I’ve only listened to a little of it, but I really liked her last album. This was only 2 dollars.

2. The Walkmen – A Hundred Miles Off

I guess I used to listen to this album at the record store? I don’t remember why I picked it up. I haven’t listened to it yet.

3. The Gun Club – Fire of Love

This is the score of the trip. EFF YES. Sex Beat, For the Love of Ivy, Ghost on the Highway (which Exene covered on her last album)

4. Trojan 35th Anniversary Box Set

Add another to the collection. Pretty spotty collection though. There is an Untouchables track on the 2nd disc though.

5.  Guided By Voices – The Electrifying Conclustion

I’ve already watched this. It is the most amazing concert video you will ever see. They have their own bar on-stage, and the entire set (including 2 encores) tops out at around 80 songs. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TO A CONCERT WHERE THEY PLAYED 80 EFFING SONGS? Brian Wilson played like 25 and I couldn’t believe it. This is the ultimate (and final) GBV show.

Let’s see what I get tomorrow!

Looked for (but didn’t find):

Deadbolt
Earthquake Glue

Entry filed under: Music.

A blog a day at sinpies Record Weekend: Day 2

5 Comments

  • 1. dave  |  November 4, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    That Fire of Love album is awesome. I took a cab home on Friday, and the cab driver was playing that album. I was like “shit yeah johnny”. I love when that kind of stuff happens. The only problem is that I always try to bond with the person and it never works out. They always end up much less excited about the situation than me. You need to get the “Tiki Man” album by Deadbolt. Another band that I highly recommend is REO Speedealer. They may be a little too metal for your tastes, but lyrically they’re genius. Songs like “Double Clutchin’ Finger Fuckin’ ” and “Pig Fucker” are hard to beat in my book. They’ve also got a sensitive and heartfelt love song called “Reel ‘Em In” – “Reel ’em in, gonna reel ’em in, gonna reel em in… reel that fuckin’ bitch in.” The romantic nature of this song can only be rivaled by that Dwarves song, “I Fucked ‘Em All” I think its called. “I fucked one in a basement and in a bathroom stall, fucked one in an alley up against the wall, I fucked an operator and now she always takes my calls, I fucked ’em all” – or something like that.

  • 2. Robert  |  November 5, 2007 at 12:21 am

    First off.. aww yeah.

    Couldn’t find Deadbolt at Amoeba, so I’m going the online route. Those lyrics are right up my alley. They are officially added to my list of shit to check out.

    Let’s party this holiday season.

  • 3. Kiala  |  November 6, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    The same thing happened to me in a cab recently. I realized we were listening to Kool Keith and I also realized – in a moment of rare drunk genius logic – that it was indeed Kool Keith and not Dr. Octagon. A moment I will forever treasure because it kept me from looking totally stupid.

    Anyway, I think the driver was excited but unable to display any emotion because it’s Portland and his hoodie may have spontaneously combusted if he so much as pursed his lips in my direction.

  • 4. Robert  |  November 6, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    Rap will live on to the year 3000!

    THREE THOUSAND!

  • 5. whitney  |  November 12, 2007 at 10:11 am

    i was so so so stupidly excited when some dude brought in the vinyl of Fire of Love in to Rhino to sell that the guy wouldn’t let me buy it from him – he just made me take it for myself for free. i wonder where that guy went? he was kinda pretty. i miss rhino.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


