Ugly Modern Scooters

October 15, 2007 at 8:31 pm 4 comments

With a few exception, I think a lot modern scooters are ugly. I think the LX150 (and ET4 to an extent) are great looking modern scooters, and with a little work and some some streamlining.. the LX150 can be super sharp. Like mine was… sniff sniff.

But holy fuck, most of these people out there buying modern scooters feel the need to go all Harley-Davidson on them and make them look gaudy as hell! Here is a great example:


Image Source (ModernVespa)

Click the source link for a bigger picture.. but why bother? Lets go down the list of ugliness.

First off, they started with a pretty version of an ugly scoot. I don’t really like GTS250’s.. they just go against the entire concept of scooter to me. But the GTV version is a limited edition throwback to some of the first Vespas (fender light, etc.) Here is an unmolested GTV:

Not bad, just not my style. But back to that monstrosity above.

WHERE TO BEGIN?

How about that seat? What the fuck? Its like a tractor seat, morphed into a giant brown lazy boy? That has the be the ugliest seat I’ve ever seen.

Chrome rims? And two-tone blue pinstriping? Multiple stickers of the brands of your aftermarket add-ons? Congratulations.. you’ve just made the “scooter” version of some teenager’s 1995 Honda Civic.

And a big fat GPS on the bars makes that one big lumbering anti-scooter.

I don’t meant to slag on this guy’s ride, and I’m sure he is going to enjoy it. But it just goes back to my original stance on what makes a scooter a scooter. I guess you could argue that an original fenderlight with 30 mirrors and lights on it is the same difference, but I’d have to disagree.

I know it comes down to taste.. but when you think of scooter, do you think of the bike above, or do you think of something like this?

Me too!

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, General Blabbing, Vespa.

My DREAMS

4 Comments

  • 1. kiala  |  October 16, 2007 at 10:06 am

    That, my friend, is what happens when fat people happen to good(ish) scooters.

  • 2. Robert  |  October 16, 2007 at 10:32 am

    You are right.. that seat totally screams “all you can eat buffet” ass

  • 3. kiala  |  October 16, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    It also screams, “belly up to the bar”.

    Hee.

    Belly.

  • 4. Harley Davidsons… « shoes on powerlines  |  May 8, 2008 at 10:22 am

    […] And I’ve talked about stupid modern Vespa’s as well right here. […]


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

