Two Lane Blacktop Coming to Criterion

September 28, 2007 at 10:49 am 4 comments

I’ve never seen this, but have always wanted to. Unfortunately I’ve never seen a place that had it on VHS, and the DVD releases have been out of print for a while.

Yay for Criterion! They are releasing a special edition of this soon, according to their page. Finally, I get to see Dennis Wilson and James Taylor drag race cars. A life long dream has come true.

I’ve always had a mini soft on for Criterion discs. They are a little pretentious, a little rad, and always good quality. The last time I was at the record store, I noticed they had a used copy of “Knife in the Water” and I’ve been thinking of going back and picking it up. It comes with a second disc of early Polanski shorts. Watching “Knife in the Water” and “Dead Calm” back to back would be a fun night.

Speaking of Criterion and shorts, you can download a Wes Anderson short on iTunes for free right now. Go here (or just go straight to iTunes) to download it. It is a prequel of sorts to “The Darjeeling Limited” which is sure to get a Criterion release when it comes to DVD.

And finally, it looks as though “Bottle Rocket” is getting the Criterion treatment. I can ditch my single disc version of this and get the extended cut when this happens. Yahoo!

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Movies.

Mods vs. Rockers Eff Pitchfork!

4 Comments

  • 1. John  |  September 28, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Not to scare you off, but I came to Two-Lane Blacktop as a big fan of 70s cinema and the Beach Boys, and found a really slow film. Part of the fault was mine; I wasn’t willing to give it the full attention it deserved. With little dialogue, you really need to concentrate to get the full experience. Maybe I’ll have to watch it again.

  • 2. Robert  |  September 28, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I’m willing to give it a shot on Netflix first, definitely. I’m sort of a fan of the slow films, even if they have to do with a faster subject matter.. like cars. And Dennis Wilson.

  • 3. M-16  |  September 30, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    I have the Criterion “Knife in the Water” and I like it. The bonus disc is cool. Go get it. Then we can go sailing together!

  • 4. Robert  |  September 30, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Two guys sailing together: not gay!

    Can it be a little gay, though? Please?


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


