Why I Don’t need an iPhone (oops)

September 12, 2007 at 9:57 am 6 comments

Update: Three days after I posted this, I have an iPhone. Ha ha! Fooled myself pretty well there!

Have you heard of the iPhone? It is the hot shit right now, especially from all the whiners who stood in line the day it was released and are now pissy at Steve Jobs for lowering the price.

ANYHOOS.. the price was dropped $200, and that means you can get the 4GB iPhone for $299. This didn’t really concern me until news dropped that you can finally unlock the iPhone to work with T-Mobile, for free.

I checked out Apple’s site, and yes, there are still 4GB iPhones for a measly $299! Should I drop the dough? Look how cool it is! It does Google Maps. I FREAKING LOVE (need) GOOGLE MAPS!

But then, rational Robert made an appearance. Do I need an iPhone? Will I really use the internet when I’m out on the town? Do I WANT to use the internet when I’m away from my computer? And I certainly wouldn’t use it as an iPod. Even 8GB of storage would hardly hold enough songs without me having to switch out albums all the time, and I HATE doing that.

Also, do I really want another big thing to stick in my pocket? Because even though the iPhone is small, it is also about 4 times bigger than my current phone. (Update: I just looked at someone’s iPhone, it is more like 3x as big, and about half as thick. And about 90 times cooler) And my current phone is so worn in, and small, and it works great, and if I drop it.. no biggie.

The iPhone is a great gadget, but I just don’t think it is $300 dollars worth of great gadget for me. Yeah, at first I would go nuts with it.. checking my email in the record store, using Google Maps to find that damn restaurant. But then, eventually, it would just go back to being a phone. And the one I have works great.

I just succeeded in convincing myself not to spend 300 dollars. Let’s celebrate!

I just bought this instead:

Entry filed under: Apple, General Blabbing.

tell me what your here for, guy my luck (its a funny thing)

6 Comments

  • 1. Kiala  |  September 12, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Why don’t you get one of these?

    http://www.thinkativity.com/toys/hippo.html

  • 2. Robert  |  September 12, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    The best of both worlds!!!!!!!!

  • 3. Jim  |  September 12, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    An iphone is an excuse to pick up girls from a lower socio-economic bracket.

    Chicks’ll give up unprotected beaver like it was time for their period.

  • 4. Robert  |  September 13, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Jim,

    Please grab your things and head down to Principal Greely’s office. Go directly there, don’t dilly-dally in the hallway.. I will be down there in a minute to discuss your inappropriate behavior.

  • 5. Kiala  |  September 13, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I don’t even understand Jim’s analogy.

    maybe “chicks’ll give up unprotected beaver like young republicans at a GOP rally” ?

  • 6. Robert  |  September 13, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    To tell you the truth, I didn’t understand it either.

    Young republicans = EWWWWWWWWWWW


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


