3/4 Year Favorite Record Run-Down

August 23, 2007 at 1:58 pm 3 comments

Here is a quick list of my favorite records of the year so far, in no particular order:

Robert Pollard – “Silverfish Trivia EP”

LCD Soundsystem – “Sound of Silver”

The Takeovers – “Bad Football”

Not released in 2007:

Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros – “Rock Art and the X-Ray Style”

Keene Brothers – “Blues and Boogie Shoes”

Robert Pollard & Doug Gillard – “Speak Kindly of your Volunteer Fire Department”

I am Kloot – “Gods and Monsters”

Crud, I need to buy more albums released this year. I obviously buy a lot of older albums that I previously missed, and a lot of those are Pollard projects. Sue me! SUE ME! Please, sue me. I’m dying for some litigation.

I’m also dying to hear your top albums so far, dear reader.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Music.

make it stop Definitive Songs: Guided By Voices’ Suitcase Disc 1

3 Comments

  • 1. Jenny  |  August 23, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I haven’t bought so much music this year, because most of it was spent in Japan. In Japan, on average, you can spend about $18 on an album. That’s too much I think. Anyway- pretty much all of what I bought/heard was awesome:
    Siouxsie and the Banshees- Superstition
    Sonic Youth- NYC Ghosts and Flowers
    Pavement- Crooked Rain
    Blonde Redhead- Misery is a Butterfly

    Havent bought that last one, but I WANT.

  • 2. Robert  |  August 24, 2007 at 11:50 am

    Let’s go record shopping!

  • 3. M-16  |  August 24, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    This year, 2007, I purchased these albums:

    Dr. Dog – We All Belong
    a philadelphia based band. i saw one of their videos on mtv2 and checked them out further. i like them, i like their sound.

    Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
    I really like this band. So, I had to get their latest album, of course. I’m hoping one day I’ll run into the lead singer, Brit Daniel, who lives in Portland, I’m told, and I can give him a high five!

    Silverchair – Young Modern
    yes, i said Silverchair. I know you think I’m a total wuss right now. but I like this band, and always have, I don’t know why, but i do. I even ordered the album from Australia. I like them.

    Other than that, I can’t recall any other major purchases of music from this year. But, I’m on the hunt always. I hear Supergrass has a new one coming out, and I love them! I am British, and Jamaican. Brit, Blip!!!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

