Westside Beach Invasion II Rally Write-up Part 1

July 31, 2007 at 9:38 pm 7 comments

I was lucky enough to attend the Westside Scooter Club‘s Beach Invasion II last weekend, July 27th through the 29th. It was an absolute blast. I took quite a few pictures, but I thought I’d write about basically the best weekend ever.

It’s long and there are a lot of pictures, so the rest of the post is after the jump.


The rally consisted of three rides, but I actually didn’t attend the night ride on the 27th. I got home from work and just wanted to work on my bike to make sure it was tip-top for the next day’s canyon ride. I crashed early to get up early for the ride the next morning.

On Saturday, I went to the Cock ‘n Bull at 11 a.m. to meet up with everyone. The turnout was low right at 11, so it gave me time to meet some people and also meet up with some others that I had met a few weeks before. I drank a Newcastle and chit-chatted until you could hear more and more 2-strokes showing up outside, so I moved outside and watched everyone arrive.

As more and more people arrived, I got pretty excited at all the different bikes I got to see up close. Some bikes I’ve only read about and never really got to see, like the Sears Allstate, were there in top form. There were a few Lambrettas, and each one was cherry. Quite a few modern scooters showed up – a lot more GT and GTS’s that LX’s, which still surprises me. Rounding out the scoots were a few Genuine Buddy’s, a modern scooter that is supposed to be pretty good but stylistically just doesn’t turn my crank.

I met a guy named Mickey that I know from the ModernVespa forums, and he had the only other smallframe. It was a super clean little gray 100.

It was really slick and he gave me some good ideas on what to do with my own bike. Mickey turned out to be a great guy to ride with that day. More on that later.

There was a film crew shooting on Super 8 and HD there. There were from Current.TV and were making a little doc on the whole ride. They ended up having two cameras on the back of scoots as well as a van with a rid in the back for taking video. I’ll post here about it as soon as it goes online. I was wearing my pink shirt in it, so I should be easy to spot.

We took off about 12:30 for Topanga Canyon. I’ve taken this ride before on my LX, but not my Primavera – so I was a little weary on how it would go. It went really, really well. The ride was awesome, and I estimate about 60-70 bikes were out there at one time. I can’t wait to see the video.

We stopped at the top of the hills and took a break. A few small problems on some bikes, but nothing major. Here is my Primavera, taking a breather before the storm.

On the ride back down, we took Mulholland down to meet back up with the PCH, north of Malibu. This is where I ran into problems. There is a massive downhill hading back toward the coast. I was in fourth the whole way down, but it felt like my engine was revving way higher than it should. I was tempted to pop it into neutral and coast all the way down, but being in the middle of over 50 vintage bikes on a Primavera with so-so rear brakes and a front brake only good for emergencies made me opt to use my gear as a brake.

When we reached the bottom of the hill, my bike was revving out of control. I hopped off of the bike and killed it, lifted my seat and started messing with my throttle. Everything looked fine, but when I kicked it back over, it immediately revved full throttle. Sean, one of the rally organizers, came back and tried to help, but time was short as the light was almost green. Mickey was riding next to me and we decided to use my choke as a throttle control as I rode. Everyone else took off, but Mickey stuck with me. I was pretty sure that we could catch up with the group, but as we started heading back downhill again, my Primavera died. Mickey couldn’t pull over, so I pulled off and took another look.

I was alone at this point, so I took another look at my throttle and carb, and everything looked fine. Then it donned on me that I was running full-throttle for quite a few minutes, and now I was running pretty rich with the choke. I checked my gas and I was low. I switched over to my reserve, kicked it a few times and she started back up. I made my way down to the PCH, messing with the choke the whole way down. I managed to meet up with a group of about 6-7 scooters, but as soon as I got outside of Santa Monica, I completely ran out of gas. Running with the choke on the PCH drained my bike quicker than I anticipated.

So, I pushed my bike up the PCH to the Santa Monica Pier, where I crossed and pushed it up to a gas station.. all in all about 3-4 miles. It was warm out, but being the Westside it was only about 75, pretty perfect actually. I filled my bike up with gas, crossed my fingers and she kicked right over. I finally met up with the group on Venice Beach where I had the most refreshing beer ever.

I decided to skip the night ride that night to give my bike a rest and fiddle with it. Jim and Jenny came over and we promptly began drinking delicious beers. I took a shower because I was covered in 2-stroke exhaust and I had the mother of all farmer’s tans. The pictures don’t do it justice.

I’ll finish up everything in Part two tomorrow or the next. Coming up: Soulside, Beverly Hills ride, and best BBQ ever!

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, Road Trips, Vespa.

Mmmm mmmm MMMM MMMMMM! so you think you can’t dance?

7 Comments

  • 1. melissa  |  July 31, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Look at that sexy man-arm!

  • 2. Robert  |  August 1, 2007 at 8:37 am

    That’s my sexy throttle arm. The other arm is like a piece of limp spaghetti.

  • 3. Kiala  |  August 1, 2007 at 9:47 am

    How do you have such a positive attitude about scooter breakdowns? You are an inspiration, my friend.

  • 4. Robert  |  August 1, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I used the power of positive thinking! Plus, the best part about a scooter breakdown is the story later and the ability that it can be pushed ANYWHERE.

  • 5. Kiala  |  August 1, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    For you, it can be pushed anywhere because of your powerful throttle/spaghetti arms. Me, I can’t push anything. Not even a shopping cart. Nope….just won’t budge.

  • 6. Jenny  |  August 1, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    Cant wait to see the video!!!

  • […] August 3rd, 2007 · No Comments For Part I, just scroll down two posts. Or for the lazy. […]


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


