Underapprectiated? I Am Kloot’s Gods and Monsters

July 26, 2007 at 2:54 pm 3 comments

I was listening to an interview with Danny Boyle about his movie Sunshine (which I saw last week – it was amazing). He has always had such great music in his movies, and he mentioned a Manchester band called “I Am Kloot.” I looked them up, and being a sucker for Manchester bands and cheap CDs, I ordered the 2005 album Gods and Monsters from the Amazon.com marketplace. It was only 3 dollars, and it came from Fabulous Jackpot! in Portland, my old record stompin’ grounds!

I received it yesterday and I’ve been listening to it all day. It is really good! It reminds me vocally of “James” and Tim Booth’s singing style. Strangely enough, “James” is a Manchester band as well. British love!

I haven’t listened to it enough to completely fall in love with the band yet, but I haven’t heard a bad song and it is great music to work to because you can both get lost in it or ignore it easily.

I think I’m going to order the rest of their albums, maybe dive head first into another Manchester-fest and pick up some old James albums and relisten to all my Moz!

The only way it could get more British is Michael showing up with some fish and chips and a six-pack of Newcastle. Blip!

Entry filed under: Music.

white garbage Beach Invasion Rally

3 Comments

  • 1. whitney  |  July 27, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    i heart jay ryan

  • 2. Robert  |  July 27, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I had to google. This is the guy who did the cover art, no?

  • 3. whitney  |  July 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    yes yes yes and so much more. his wife is amazing too. i want them to adopt me.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

