DVD Wonders: Dust to Glory

July 19, 2007 at 12:45 pm 2 comments

Dust to Glory is one of my favorite motorcycle docs. It is directed by Dana Brown, who previously made the stunning surf documentary Step into Liquid.

Dust to Glory is about the Baja 1000 that takes place every year on the Baja peninsula in Mexico. You can race every class of vehicle imaginable, from million dollar supertrucks to Class 11 stock Baja VW Bugs.

The documentary focuses mostly on the supertrucks and the motorcycle racers. The motorcycle footage is some of the best race footage I’ve ever seen! There is a segment that rivals any action movie for the action and thrills and drama – a helicopter follows two riders who are trying to overtake each other. Both ride for Honda, but one got cut from the A team and put on the B team last minute. As the B team rider takes the lead, there is an awesome race between the two as each rider uses the course differently to try and take/keep the lead. It is amazing and I can imagine the cameramen thinking “this is going to make our doc” as they are filming it.

The thing I love about Dust to Glory is that it follows in the vein of Endless Summer in that it doesn’t just focus on the action, but the culture around it. There is a really touching scene where one of the longtime Baja drivers visits an orphanage that he has donated time and money to, and he takes kids on a ride in his dune buggy. The smiles on their faces are pretty great to watch. In another scene, a kid who idolizes a motorcycle rider gets an official team jersey. The smile on his face is bigger than the jersey hanging off his body.

Another reason I love this doc is because it matches up with the stories my grandfather and my dad have told me. My grandpa used to go down to the Baja when he raced Dune Buggys, and he would talk with Steve McQueen and James Garner about engines and racing. Down there, everyone was the same in that they loved racing and the vehicles they did it in.

You should rent Dust to Glory, or at least borrow it from me! Even if you aren’t into motorcycles or racing, it is an excellent film that will draw you in. Afterward, you can meet me in Ensenada for the 2008 race.

Entry filed under: 2 Wheel Luv, Documentary, Road Trips, Wonderful Sites!, Wonders.

Virtual Console = Back in Love with Videogames shoot myself with rock n’ roll

2 Comments

  • 1. whitney  |  July 19, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Um, yes please. I am all about it. Can i rent it from you? Do I get my own borrowers card? I have it back to you in a jiffy.

  • 2. Robert  |  July 19, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    It will be on it’s way shortly, my dear! I’ll call you with details.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


