Super Vespa YouTube round-up

July 9, 2007 at 10:46 am 2 comments

Most of these videos I became aware of through the awesome blog Honky-Tonk Dragon. Because I can’t link directly to his posts, I’ll just give him a general shoutout!

First up is a new Scooter Nation trailer. I’ve been looking forward to this release for a while. Here is the first trailer Looks like this will not only be a great travel doc, but also a look at scooter culture around the United States. I know he came through L.A. and recognize some faces. Check out the trailer below:

Next up is the “Vespa Twins,” two brothers from Italy who toured Australia separately on some 125 Vespas. The link above goes to their website, and here is Part 1 of 3 videos they have up on YouTube:

Here is part 2 and part 3.

I can’t wait to do a United States tour on a Vespa, but doing Australia would be amazing. Or.. hmm.. London to Ulaanbaatar. But I digress…

Finally, there is a doc that Dave told me about called Moped to South America. Not exactly a Vespa, but still pretty awesome. Considering these are freaking MOPEDS. I guess their doc was done shooting when they got robbed and almost 2 weeks of footage was stolen along with their camera and passports. They have returned to finish shooting, and I can’t wait to see the doc. Here is the trailer on YouTube (better quality versions on their site, linked above)

I can’t imagine the feeling in my gut as I watched two weeks of footage stolen – and the tapes were most likely ditched. Label all your tapes with your name and address on travels, everyone! You never know, they could end up coming back to you.

That’s it for now.. happy viewing! Hopefully this will inspire you to get a scoot and do a tour with me.

And another shout out to one of my favorite blogs Honky-Tonk Dragon for the YouTube links.

Entry filed under: Road Trips, Vespa, Wonderful Sites!, Youtube.

Guided by Voices: Drinker’s Peace Georges Méliès

2 Comments

  • 1. whitney  |  July 11, 2007 at 9:17 am

    i want to be friends with those boys who went all the way to the tip of south america. i want to make that journey so so very much.

  • 2. Robert  |  July 11, 2007 at 11:09 am

    That would be an awesome journey! I don’t know if I’d do it on a moped, but a scooter yes. I guess it just depends on what you are comfortable with.

    One of my favorite scenes in the trailer is that freeing that seized piston… I guess if that happened on a Vespa you couldn’t really pedal your way to repair. unless you were taking one o those weird 50cc smallframes Piaggio released with pedals so it could get around the moped laws.

    http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~pattle/nacc/arc0057.htm

    Wow. I’m a super dork! AND I LIKE IT


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

