Land of the Lost

June 21, 2007 at 11:52 pm 9 comments

Look.. I generally look down upon the whole nostalgia trip as a bunch of people who never figured out how to grow up, so they still listen to Dookie all the time and most conversations revolve around that hilarious Simpsons episode where Homer eats a donut instead of doing his work.

But “Land of the Lost” is this shit. Behold:

First off, their SUV falls through a crack in the earth and then lands safetly enough to drive on through a cave to be encountered by… DINOSAURS.

“We opened the door, and found dinosaurs!” What a great rhyme. What a ridiculous show. But so ridiculous that it goes around the “ridiculous meter” and ends back up at the “silly but tolerable” scale. And it is also great because no one gives a shit about “Land of the Lost.” Yeah, you can go to Urban Outfitters and get your “pre-worn” TMNT shirt to prove your man-boyness. But drop “Land of the Lost” and you’ll get some blank stares. Maybe it is because the show sucked so bad.

There are triple moons. There are stop motion dinosaurs. There is a midget in a baby-dinosaur costume. I guess this is awesome/awful! No.. awesome. I love how the theme song illustrates that “this world is strange and new” by mentioning the triple moons first. But the next scene features a FUCKING TYRANNOSAURUS REX roaring in their faces! Yeah.. those triple moons are weird and wonderful and strange.. oh wow what a fanciful world we’ve stumbled upon OH MY GOD A GOD DAMN DINOSAUR!”

Anyway.. I forgot how I even found this clip. My hands are dry and gross feeling from 3 hours of cleaning my apartment. While cleaning, I listened to these great records this great girl gave me. You know who you are!

Entry filed under: garbage sacks, Youtube.

DIDJA? Smashing Pumpkins give the ol’ EFF YOU to everyone

9 Comments

  • 1. charley  |  June 22, 2007 at 7:50 am

    Yes! I also like how the hole closes back up after they fall through. That’s some unstable plate tectonics, man.

  • 2. kiala  |  June 22, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Marshall, Will, and Holly! They river raft and fight the Sleestacks who control the pyramids! Or something….I liked anything by Sid and Marty Croft. Now I have to go listen to my Crash Test Dummies tape.

  • 3. dave  |  June 22, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    “Once, there was a boy who…”

  • 4. kiala  |  June 22, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    “got into an accident and couldn’t go to school…”

  • 5. dave  |  June 22, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    “But when, he finally made it…”

  • 6. Jenny  |  June 22, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Holy crap! I remember this. This awakened distant memories of aweful/awesome-ness

  • 7. kiala  |  June 22, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    “he…had..birthmarks all over his body”
    I may be paraphrasing here.

  • 8. whitney  |  June 22, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    So I bought that whole “Land of the Lost” box set … or maybe I got it from Laura… anyway as soon as it came in the Spin I aquired it… but the one I got is from the seventies, not the ninetys and therefore not the one I grew up with, and even though this one is supposed to be better, and while I love HR Puff n’Stuff and all things Sid & Marty Krofft, I just can’t get into it. Maybe I should give that to you too.

    That is sweet, by the by.

  • 9. Lemon fresh gangsta  |  July 29, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Whoooaaa…so I was just thinking about what I vaguely remembered of the intro piece to this where their SUV fell into a hole, and then I figured I should Google it…to find out the name, because surely SOMEONE else must have had the misfortune of seeing it as well. Lo and behold, I am not disappointed.

    It did suck though. You’d think they would have eventually run out of gas in that Jeep.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


