Competition = Good

June 11, 2007 at 5:12 pm 4 comments

From Consumerist.com:

FTC: Wild Oats Whole Foods Buyout Bad for Consumers 

Yes! I agree! When I first heard of the buyout, I was nervous because I do all my shopping at Whole Foods, and their prices are already quite high. Now, I do this purely out of convenience, as I live close to a Whole Foods and I really don’t know where the closest Wild Oats is.

Competition is always good, and the exact wrong reaction to a buyout is “oh good, I never shopped there anyway.” Well, wasn’t it at least nice to have a choice? With all of Wild Oats being converted over, they would be free to raise prices and they would hold onto a significant part of the supermarket pie.

Also – I think it is funny that an already snobby portion of food buyers (me included) treat Wild Oats as the “lesser than thou” of organic food shops. Brand loyalty is one thing, but when you refuse to buy Wild Oats organic sour cream over Whole Foods brand, you deserve an (organic) pie in the face.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Wonderful Sites!.

General Updates – Monday wickedness edition? Waiting for Leopard?

4 Comments

  • 1. Naterageous  |  June 12, 2007 at 2:30 am

    Hmmm…agreeing wasn’t the reaction that first or second came to mind. I immediately thought of howthe fcc hasn’t given a fuck about who merged with whom during the past 7 years. But the FTC should be given a break. Competition! The market system! I’m still going to Food Fight, New Season’s and Trader Joe’s first. Then Fred Meyer (it’s the closest, and as you know, you can’t throw a bottle of Goddess Dressing without hitting a Fred Meyer in Portland).

  • 2. Robert  |  June 12, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Stadium Fred Meyer… my old stompin’ grounds.

  • 3. Dave  |  June 12, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Yeah, Stadium Fred Meyer… now Northwest Best Fred Meyer. Lame.

  • 4. Robert  |  June 12, 2007 at 11:27 am

    WTF?!?!?!?!

    Now I know for sure I’m never going back to Portland. That was the last straw.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


