Scooters that aren’t scooters

June 6, 2007 at 1:25 pm 6 comments

When I think of a scooter, I think of a small, moderately powered bike that is nimble and perfect for urban areas. However, there are a lot of modern scooters that bill themselves as scooters, but they hardly fit the description. They are usually big, overpowered ugly machines. Here is my list of scooters that aren’t really scooters:

1. Vespa GT/GTS

I think these are a prime example of what is going wrong with modern scooters. Instead of keeping with the smaller form factor of the Rally 200, Vespa basically took theLX150 design and ballooned it into this – a 200/250cc “scooter” that looks silly and costs a mint. Their design reminds me of the level in Super Mario Bros. 3 where everything has grown bigger except for Mario. This seems to be a popular choice for commuters or modern Vespa owners, because they want “the extra power.” WHY?! This is also a popular choice for scooterists that gear themselves out in head to toe motorcycle gear and scoff at people that wear 3/4 helmets.

2. Piaggio X9


“Hello. I’m a giant tool!”

Oh god, the Piaggio X9 is the worst bike I have ever seen. I see these every once in a while in Los Angeles, and I just shudder. This 500cc piece of ridiculousness is what they call a “maxi-scooter,” which is a synonym for “scared of motorcycles.” The sad little windshield, those big stupid mirrors, the giant plastic ass. At this point, just get a car. Or.. oh, I don’t know.. a freaking motorcycle?

3. Honda Silverwing

Take everything I said about the Piaggio X9 and multiply it by 1000.

Scooters are meant to be small. They are zippy little bikes and they aren’t meant to be taken on the freeway and do 95. Some of the early Vespa smallframes had 50cc engines in them. Awesome!

I even thought the LX150 was a little too big feeling for me when I got it, but it is really the only choice for a daily driver – plus I love the design. Perfectly proportioned and seats two-up well.

And don’t get me wrong, I know a lot of people get bigger scooters because they do scooter-touring and go on long trips and whatnot. That’s awesome! But a 250cc scooter sort of defeats the purpose of scooter touring, don’t you think? Its an awesome story when you hear someone drove across the United States on a scooter that maxes out at 50(or less)… not so much when they are on “scooter” that hits 85 easily and has more gadgets and junk on it than most cars. At this point, why not get a motorcycle?

My point is that the appeal of scooters to me is that they are limited in size – both frame and engine size. Large scooters are the equivalent of Mini putting out an SUV.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Vespa.

‘member THIS? Some Inventions

6 Comments

  • 1. Jim  |  June 6, 2007 at 3:27 pm

  • 2. Jim  |  June 6, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    it won’t seem to let me post images.

  • 3. Robert  |  June 6, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    I’ll look into that crap! Meanwhile.. that image makes me excited? Scared? Digital lady?

  • […] already know how I feel about large modern scooters, and I think this sort of sums up my feelings about modern scooters in […]

  • 5. Jake  |  August 14, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I agree totally.
    My first bike was a 1962 puch/vespa/allstate
    50cc(I think, maybe it was an 80cc)
    with a handgrip shifted 3spd.
    That thing was the ideal ride (to me anyway)
    big scooter is an oxymoron.
    J

  • 6. Robert  |  August 14, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Wait.. was it a Puch, a Vespa, or a Vespa Allstate? I’m guessing Puch because allstates didn’t come in the 50cc variety.. but smallframes did. I have a Primavera Smallframe right now – 125cc’s really push the little frame fast. Yay for small bikes!!

    Cheers,
    Robert


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

