‘member THIS?

June 5, 2007 at 1:49 pm 7 comments

I took that Pepsi Challenge, AND I got one of those little aluminum badges. They sucked! You had to clip it to your shirt collar or something!

This was when I was very young at the Grants Pass county fair. I remember seeing commercials and people were having so much fun taking the Pepsi challenge. Imagine my excitement as part of the world I saw on television was taking place at the Grants Pass county fair!!! In the commercial, the person would be blindfolded, and a very excited person behind the booth would watch intently as the blindfolded person would taste each one. Then they would pick “B” or point to bottles or what not. SURPRISE! You picked Pepsi!! Excitement. Laughing. Drinking of the Pepsi.

The fair’s booth was a little different. There were some 2-liter bottles with the labels removed, and this super bored looking teenager was pouring them into dixie cups. So me and my friend Jared went up to take the Pepsi Challenge! And I did it, I picked Pepsi. I did it! Or did I? After swishing it around in my mouth and saying “THIS ONE” she said “congratulations” and gave me the above metal badge. I’m guessing it could have been eagle urine in the dixie cup and she still would have said “congratulations” and given me that badge. I wish I still had that badge.

Now I hate Pepsi AND Coke, unless it is Mexican Coke. Delicious.

Entry filed under: General Blabbing.

Youtube: Stop Motion Vespa Ad Scooters that aren’t scooters

7 Comments

  • 1. Dave  |  June 5, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Mexican Coke is delicious. And it still comes in the glass bottles, which I’m convinced makes the Coke taste better.

  • 2. Robert  |  June 5, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Hell yes. Everything in a glass bottle tastes better. Maybe even milk? Old Crow, definitely. Milkshakes? Don’t know about that one. Green bottled beer… remember the fluorescent light skunk theory?

    Anyways.. glass is great!

  • 3. Charley  |  June 5, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Actually, if you picked the eagle urine you got a date with Misty, the town skank.

  • 4. Robert  |  June 5, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    There was only one?

  • 5. kiala  |  June 5, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    I have a can of Egyptian Diet Coke somewhere. I suppose this makes me a target for Homeland Security.
    Again.

  • 6. Robert  |  June 6, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Don’t OPEN IT. It probably contains a mummy curse. Because of Egypt.

    Pyramids and stuff. Does it have hieroglyphics on the can? HAHA! Egyptian stereotypes! Is the Egyptian version of Coke Zero called Coke PHARAOH? HAHAHA! Papyrus! Sand!

  • 7. whitney  |  June 7, 2007 at 12:23 am

    Ha! Papyrus is a funny word!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


