Wonders: Keene Brothers’ “Blues and Boogie Shoes” (2006)

June 1, 2007 at 1:58 pm 1 comment

I had to do two wonders in a week! I love “Blues and Boogie Shoes.” It is the only album I’ve been listening to all week.

Power pop. I think this is a music label that has mostly has kept its promise. It hasn’t really diluted in its meaning like “punk” or “alternative.” Those never really meant anything – but pop has always been a good definition of certain music.. and power.. well who can argue with that?

So to put together two legends of power pop is GENIUS, and that is “Blues and Boogie Shoes.” Tommy Keene and Robert Pollard’s guitars play off each perfectly, and Pollard is at the top of his game (GBV pun!) singing strong and clear. This is like the lost Smiths album.

I would also say this is a great primer to Robert Pollard if you haven’t gotten into him in his many incarnations. It would be hard to dive head first into some of his first solo albums like “Kid Marine” or even the more recent “From a Compound Eye.” I think that this album, like GBV’s “Do The Collapse,” is the perfect blend of Pollard’s lyrical genius and his ability to create excellent songs with other collaborators. Tommy Keene’s guitar work is great, and he is now on my list of people I need to listen to more. The entire album has a very beautiful, full sound. It reminds me of production on “James” albums.

The song “Beauty of the Draft” has an awesome guitar solo in it.

You can listen to the single “Death of the Party” right here (right click to download). You will not be disappointed. If you like that track, you should immediately buy “Blues and Boogie Shoes.”

You can buy it here. (Cheaper than Amazon and whatnot – buy from Bob direct!)

You can listen to lots of Pollard’s tracks here.

You can thank me here. This will be your new favorite album.

Entry filed under: Guided By Voices, Music, Wonders.

be carefuls x 1 million = please stop A Wonderful Trip – right from your desk!

1 Comment

  • 1. Robert  |  June 3, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I can’t believe no one has even listened to the free track! It’s free music people.. and this album is the BEST. Once the synthesizers kick in on “Heaven’s Gate” you will know I was right!!!!!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


