near miss

June 1, 2007 at 9:54 am 3 comments

So, this morning on the way to work I had this great post planned out about how people freak out when they hear that you ride a scooter/motorcycle, and all the illogical safety concerns they have. I still have that planned. But.. coincidentally, I came as close as I ever have to biting it big this morning on the way to work.

I’m heading up Lincoln, and I have two open lanes ahead of me, and I am in front of all the traffic. I’m hitting about 45, nothing too quick but I won’t be stopping on a dime if I hit the brakes. Suddenly, out of the left turn lane, a car decides they don’t want to wait anymore and pulls out right in front of me.

I can sort of remember it in slow motion – I saw the car start to peek out and I put my fingers on the brakes, thinking they would wait for me to pass. I started to relax my fingers off the brakes when the car jolted out. I laid on the horn as I leaned really hard into the next lane to go around them. If there was a car in the other lane I’m almost certain I would have crashed, I wouldn’t have had any room to maneuver.

Slow motion stops, I get my bike under control, and immediately turn around and flip off the driver AS HARD AS I CAN. At the next redlight, the car pulls up behind me. I turn around and give a “what were you thinking, you stupid cow!” signal (face grimaced, hand up turned up, accusatory gesturing)  and it was this Japanese girl who looked really intimidated and sort of gave a “whoopsy” hand gesture to me. I just turned back around and counted to ten. IN GREEK.

So that’s my story, and the motosafety post will have to wait. I just finished my bagel. Tell me, do you like bagels that are soft all around, or bagels that have a harder shell and are chewy on the inside.. sort of like a bread M&M? I like it somewhere in between.

Entry filed under: garbage sacks, General Blabbing, Vespa.

I hate scrabble!!! be carefuls x 1 million = please stop

3 Comments

  • 1. Jenny  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Glad you are safe! When reading the story, I was imagining the driver to be a tool, but when I found out she was a cute Japanese girl, I thought to myself, “ahhh, it’s ok, she didn’t know better.”

    Bagels: Cut in half, lightly toasted so it’s still warm and soft. With cream cheese.

    Monopoly: It’s on!

  • 2. Robert  |  June 1, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    It shouldn’t be ok that it was a cute Japanese girl. I was still pretty mad. But darnit, she didn’t know any better! Domo!!

  • 3. dave  |  June 1, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    When my freind Tom and I almost got creamed on his Silverwing it was a cute Japanese girl running a red light. But, hey, she didn’t know any better. I mean, how many Asian people live in San Francisco anyway? Hey, wait a minute…


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


